We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hahei Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best location ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

This hliday park offers spectacular ocean views. We parked our campervan on one of th eocean view sites, right on the water. Park facilities were average, clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Quite location and nice small town. We had a very good stay. I's stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    207
    46
    24
    7
See reviews for
273
224
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

We spent our Easter break here and loved it. Nice, tidy, clean and so close to the beach. It's a nice and quiet area, only one shop in the vicinity, so it's for people who want to relax and unwind and families with children alike. The beach is truly beautiful.

I would recommend bringing enough groceries for self catering purposes. Good kitchen facilities available and BBQs outside.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heike_Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed in a comfort cabin for a few days. Wonderful laid back beach, great people, and cool town. I would definitely agree that you would need to stock up on food before going. The local store is a bit on the pricey side, but the restaurant in town has great food for date nights. Good times.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

The approach to these villas is through the Hahei Holiday Park which caters for camping / cmapervans etc. - once through there, the villas sit on a small rise just above the beach - a superb location - the views from the bedroom are wonderful - equally good downstairs...

The villa can sleep 6 - fully equipped - a little bit of luxury...we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be back in a flash!

Fab...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustiesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Our family (2 adults and 2 young kids) had our 3rd trip back to Hahei Holiday Resort. First trip camping and then in the beachview villas and this time in their 3 bedroom cottage. We totally enjoyed our 6 days. The cottage is original 1960s style (a typical NZ beachside bach) but very roomy and comfortable with everything you need (except for own laundry). It was even fully fenced with our own lawn area for the kids and our own BBQ. It's right in the middle of the camping ground so you feel like you are camping but with the comforts of a comfy bed, TV, kitchen and bathroom. The resort is pretty standard when it comes to camping ground facilities but what makes it special is the location - right on the beach. No roads to cross. And the beach is fabulous - warm water and safe for all.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed in the backpacker section (Cathedral Cove Backpackers) at the Hahei Holiday resort. The dorm (we called it the "outhouse") we stayed in was pretty bad - 10 beds cramped into a tiny box of a room. All those breathing nostrils combined with dropping NZ temperatures in the evening resulted in one very damp room. There was mould in the carpet, up the walls and inside the curtains so the place reeked.

The location of the "Resort" itself is fantastic - right on the beach and close to Cathedral Cove - truly one of the world's treasures.

Although you'd be more comfortable if you brought a clean tent.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grrlfrommars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

These are lovely villas which open out onto the beach. They are quite highly priced, particularly in high season. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Curran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing