We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and cosy place with helpful people and welcoming atmosphere”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had two really nice days in the hostel, I just felt like home in the wooden lounge, playing card games and having dinner all together was so nice. And I took full advantage of the mountain bike (the first hostelbike that is actually working properly!!)I feel like I could spend so much more time here, but unfortunately I have to leave.thx fo everything, Katharina

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEBBIE E, Owner at Tatahi Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us. , We loved having you. Enjoy your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Initially we had planned to stay for one day and then move to another place for another day. However, when we got in and had such a pleasant and warm welcome ... saw the room was so cosy and clean, we decided to stay for 2 nights. Had such a wonderful time. The owner, Richard was ever so pleasant and helpful in so many ways. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to stay in Hahei or Hot Water Beach area.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom motel units are so conveniently located. Laundry room is near-by. Great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEBBIE E, Owner at Tatahi Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you , we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience the magic of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Near the hot water beach and the Cathedral Cove. Very nice place , lovely rooms and clean. Nice garden. The owner in kind and helpfull. The only problem after 7 o'clock no food around. Well equiped place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Moshe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroomed unit (1 large double, 1 comfortable twin) with a well appointed kitchen/living room and a good sized bathroom. We had a garden with BBQ furniture etc but unfortunately didn't arrive early enough in the day to make use of everything! No sense of it being a backpacker hostel at all - more like a quiet motel. Very clean and beautiful grounds. However, be warned that you need to be organised for food when staying in Hahei. Either shop in a supermarket before you get there....or risk having to eat out...the nearby takeaway was closed, the local restaurant is expensive, and we ended up having to drive quite a few km to find a fish and chip shop. This was midweek, midwinter and after 7pm, to put it into context. I used the laundry facilities - new, efficient machines and there was an airer to borrow overnight instead of tumble drying everything. It's a bit of a drive to Hot Water Beach but the wonderful hosts asked us if we needed to borrow anything - we took a number of spades and towels, which we returned mid afternoon (even though we checked out at 10am) - great service with a smile. My children found a box of bats and balls to play with. Beautiful beach just a short walk away. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Organised a big group to stay in the backpacker lodge for a mid-winter weekend away. Was impressed with the cleanliness and great communal area. Debbie and Richard were very accommodating hosts. Great location and grounds - only a short walk to the beach - would happily stay there again.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the communal dorm room this weekend and had a terrific time. Gracious owners, nicely landscaped, well appointed kitchen, comfortable bunks and spotlessly clean. Nice location too. We will stay again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markgarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in a double room in the backpackers. A lovely wooden building, lots of light and comfy communal areas with plenty of seating. The kitchen was well appointed and served us well enough to cook for 18 people - the burners were a little rubbish however.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is great - a short walk from Hahei beach and the start of the the walk to Cathedral Cove. Our only negative was how thin the walls were; that said the beds were VERY comfy.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you book a room, the larger one has no other bedrooms adjacent; but is in between the bathroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandPiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing