We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfy in paradise”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our family of two adults and two teenagers stayed at Tatahi Lodge and we absolutely enjoyed it. We chose this place as we were going on the sea kayak tour early in the morning and wanted to be close to where the tour took off from and be close to Hot Water Beach which is about 8km away. Our accommodation was a two bedroom villa which was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and really spacious and cosy. The owners were really friendly and helpful, and gave us complimentary beach towels to use when we went to visit Hot Water Beach. Unfortunately these got rather soaked as we were caught in a downpour but they were very understanding and told us not to worry about them. There were also spades attached to each unit that you can take with you so you didn't have to worry about hiring them there. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night. It was in such a peaceful, quiet location so it was quite relaxing. The only downside is Hahei is a small town so its best to bring food supplies with you. They do have a shop but its quite pricey and closes early and there is nowhere to get a meal after 6pm. However I would totally recommend this place to anyone if they were looking for a more peaceful and picturesque part of the Coromandels to stay in

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noonie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for a night as I had a Kayak tour booked around Cathedral Cove (highly recommend). The Motel is a very short walk away from Hahei Beach where the tour starts. We booked a Garden Studio for a good rate online, $120. The room was immaculate, very clean and cosy. I had a great nights sleep on the bed. The location itself is very peaceful and quite. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AusTraveller_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

For $160/ a night for 3 adults, this room is a steal. It can easily accommodate 6. It is cosy, very well furnished and easily the most luxurious motel room I have stayed, in New Zealand. It is a stand-alone building with a huge and well maintained garden. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a short distance to Cathedral Cove. Book early if you planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My experience after staying in tatahi Lodge is strongly positive.

Regarding the staff, the owners of the place were absolutely friendly and kind with me. They are very cosy and they are always trying to make you have a good time. They are also always willing to answer all your inquiries and also to help you with clever advice.

Regarding the facilities, Tatahi Lodge has very nice rooms and common areas that make you feel at home. It is quite nice to share a room with other people because you get to know them, and after my experience there, the people I met were very interesting and nice with me. I really felt as in home.

This cheery lodge is located at one of the most beautiful coasts of New Zealand and it’s close to everything: attractions, market and beaches, including hot water beach and cathedral cove.

After my experience there, I strongly recommend that if you want to have some tranquil days and enjoy the peaceful paradise of Hahei, then the best place to stay during those days, is Tatahi Lodge.

Room Tip: 5 beds rooms at the back of the lodge may be quieter because they are farther from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had two really nice days in the hostel, I just felt like home in the wooden lounge, playing card games and having dinner all together was so nice. And I took full advantage of the mountain bike (the first hostelbike that is actually working properly!!)I feel like I could spend so much more time here, but unfortunately I have to leave.thx fo everything, Katharina

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEBBIE E, Owner at Tatahi Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us. , We loved having you. Enjoy your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Initially we had planned to stay for one day and then move to another place for another day. However, when we got in and had such a pleasant and warm welcome ... saw the room was so cosy and clean, we decided to stay for 2 nights. Had such a wonderful time. The owner, Richard was ever so pleasant and helpful in so many ways. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to stay in Hahei or Hot Water Beach area.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom motel units are so conveniently located. Laundry room is near-by. Great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEBBIE E, Owner at Tatahi Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you , we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience the magic of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Near the hot water beach and the Cathedral Cove. Very nice place , lovely rooms and clean. Nice garden. The owner in kind and helpfull. The only problem after 7 o'clock no food around. Well equiped place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Moshe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing