We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was a perfect location for us. We stayed here for two nights in December and found it to have everything we needed, including a spade for Hot Water Beach! Nice room and bathroom with a spacious shower, along with a refrigerator and a sliding door that led to a communal area with our own picnic table. Location is great, walking distance to Hahei beach, Cathedral Cove, etc. Few places to eat around here so be sure to have a plan for meals. People in the office were friendly and very helpful. I recommend this place and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Two friends and I had the pleasure of staying in the garden cottage. We absolutely loved it. Not only is it spacious inside, but it also has a private backyard with a small porch, picnic table and lounge chair for sunbathing. There's a full kitchen, living area with couches, and 2 bedrooms. You can also do your laundry if you're in for an extended stay. I wish we could have spent more time here - you instantly feel relaxed. Plus, it's walking distance to some great beach areas (Cathedral Cove is amazing!). I loved the small details from the friendly staff - they walk you right to your door after check-in and bring a small jug of milk for your tea/coffee. I welcomed the fact that the WiFi signal wasn't great here - we enjoy each others' company instead of our phones/tablets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed door 4 nights in a studio apartment at the beginning of a 4 week NZ trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Delightful hosts who were always willing to assist with anything we needed or asked. The room was very spacious, comfortable and enjoyed a delightful garden area to relax. It's only a few minutes easy walk to the beach and an excellent cafe is literally on the door step. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location and cozy environment. Beach towel provided. Walking distance to the beach, café and grocery store...2 minutes drive from cathedral cove and 10 min drive far away from Hot Water Beach.
On the negative ...definitely the bed...only one pillow and not nice matrass.
Wifi not stable and terrible sound insulation. Very noisy water pipes and embarassing as you can hear everything the neighbour say.
I would probably try to look for alternatives although I may go again as price/quality is still towards a positive scoring.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MatteoSTefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had booked in to this motel for 2 nts and were thrilled to see the quality of this accommodation. The rooms were superb, very clean, meticulously equipped with quality furniture. the grounds are an absolute delight. The beach is minutes walk away and Hot water Beach is only minutes in the car. Each motel room has a spade hanging outside to take to Hot Water Beach and beach towels are available. There is a useful laundry. We parked the car at the ferry and for $5 return we crossed to Whitianga to buy supplies in the supermarket...much more fun than the long drive round. Cathedral Cove was a good visit but not for the infirm unfortunately. The only surprise was that our room was not serviced on the second day, I asked for some more plunger coffee and was given some but got the impression this was not the norm. Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting something a little special, a real find at the end of nearly 6 weeks.

Room Tip: Think any room would be a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Nice room in excellent condition, beach towels provided as well as room towels and parking directly outside the door. Hosts were very helpful keeping the laundry open late for us. Only negatives were the noisy fridge and lack of insect mesh on windows so we couldn't leave windows open without flies coming into to the room at night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Certainly one of the best backpackers I've visited so far! The place is peaceful, clean, and the communal area (kitchen - living room) is perfect to socialize.
In addition, Richard and Debby are warm welcoming, very friendly and so helpful!

I would definitely recommand this place! See you later Richard & Debby !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank MaximeZind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: £75 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing