We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but rude lady owner and expensive”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fabulous location, near Hahei beach/Cathedral Cove/Hot Water Beach. Clean rooms, spacious, fresh. Beautiful fresh flowers adorning beds.

However not backpacker friendly and expensive.
Cookers are also faulty in kitchen.
Particularly disappointed on leaving. Checked out by the target of 10am, however my friend and I waited around till 11am in common room using internet bought from hostel. Lady owner rudely told us to immediately leave the premises for cleaning with no offer to leave luggage or to avail of common room until we organised activities etc. Very disappointed since the cost of the accommodation was double what we might have paid in another hostel. Impression was now that we had checked out we were not wanted. Little thanks for respect or custom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Tatahi Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in this extremely friendly establishment at Hahei this past weekend for 1 night for a family wedding. Management was welcoming and our double bed room unit for 4 adults was well appointed, exceptionally clean and well cared for. will definitelybe back for another stay.

Room Tip: The two bedroom corner unit was excellent and very sunny,
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana8cookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Perfectly located to visit Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Hahei is a small town so plan dinner early. Cafe next door makes a great breakfast and lunch. A brewery will be opening next door any day now.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyngas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in a private double room (shared bathroom) at the backpacker part of Tatahi Lodge. It was beautifully clean in the bedroom and bathroom and had the cleanest backpacker kitchen we've ever seen. The gardens are a subtropical paradise and the location is quiet and very close to the beach. The staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable. We would love to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had a lovely time at Hahei, visited Whitianga, Cooks Beach, Hot Water Beach, got our feet week in the surf at all the beaches. Gem Bay was a very powerful experience. Easy walk to the beach and shops. :-)

Room Tip: I think we had the best room, bedroom was at the end not next to another room in the next unit.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvbookstuff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The only thing that could make this place better if it was right on the beach (although a less than 5 minute walk is a good compromise).

We stayed in the cottage which looks exactly like the photos on the website and was nice and private. All the staff were welcoming and couldn't ensure our stay was better!

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed three nights in a two-bedroom unit. This was very nicely furnished and had large windows looking out onto beautiful subtropical gardens, which had pleasant areas for sitting. The motel's location is excellent - very peaceful yet only a short stroll to the shops, including the excellent Hahei Beach Cafe, and a ten-minute walk to beautiful Hahei beach. The staff were very nice and gave helpful answers to our questions about the area.

Jerry & Liz

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jrry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
17.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: £71 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing