We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, awesome staff”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome staff”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The motel is minutes away from the beach, short drive from the cathedral cove and hot water beach. The staff are helpful, proactive and friendly. The two bedroom unit is large and sunny. Great value for money. Will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HooiYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    104
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
110
176
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were supposed to stay in hahei for about 3-4 days, we ended up staying there 10 days instead! Beautiful location, friendly staff and a good "backpacker atmosphere" ... And they have a very nice BBQ area :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMajsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

- Good location
- Clean
- Friendly staff but the owner can be more friendly to her team, together you can make a difference
- No free wifi
- Nice extra stuff for free like frisbee, beach tennis, football, volleyball, rugby ball etc
- Good beds
- Medium size hostel
- Enough equipment in the kitchen
- Stayed 3 nights
- I will be here again

You need a car to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Tatahi Lodge for a couple of nights at the end of March. It was so peaceful and quiet and so well organized. We stayed in a double room in the backpacker building, everything decorated with great taste and good beds.
Kitchen and common areas area good and they have a lovely backyard area with bbq. No views of the ocean and some noise from the road when all the buses go to Cathedral Cove...but you should be there too!!!!
Only thing it was the noise from the common areas and the bathrooms and other rooms. The walls are very thin so you hear everything. Somebody took a shower at 7 am and it seemed he was in our room.
Also the electric fires in the kitchen take forever to warm-up.
The rest was awesome and we will stay there again, anyway!!

Room Tip: double rooms seemed all pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night in the backpacker private double room.

The room was in a lovely Lockwood style, clean and warm. Plus the bed was huge!

The shared bathroom was between two other private rooms and I didn't have to wait once. It was always clean and tidy.

It was great having the use of the full kitchen of the backpackers.

The corner store and pizza shop are super close too. We drove to Hot Water Beach for the evening low tide and Titahi Lodge offered us free spades.

This was a really great choice! I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've stayed at Tatahi Lodge twice now, once in the backpackers part and once in their very nice motel type apartment. I love this place. Really friendly, welcoming, clean, well-equipped - BBQs and outside seating and decking, spades and towels for the beach, very nice (and clean!) kitchen, lots of local knowledge - perfect location about 2 minutes walk from the beach, and right next to the local pizzeria/galateria. Certainly best backpackers I've stayed in, and just as excellent motel-type rooms too. Absolutely gorgeous and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuofanConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great 2 night stay here in a studio apartment. The room was plenty big enough, clean, with good basic in room supplies. The acoustics between rooms was much better than I thought from the initial look of the rooms.
We had a lovely outdoor patio with table and chairs.
Great location, short walk to the beautiful Hahei beach which is also the starting point for many of the Catherdral Cove activities. Also only a short drive to hot water beach. They also supply shovels to take down and dig your own spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Property: Tatahi Lodge Motel
Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing