We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beginning to holiday”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect beginning to holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We travelled here from Auckland after a long-haul flight, and it was the perfect place to spend a few days to unwind. We had booked for two nights, but loved it so much that we stayed for another. This meant that we had to move to a studio, which was a bit cramped after the Villa!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    105
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
116
180
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a beautiful treat this place was. Hahei is small and lovely and this fantastic complex fit right in. The property and the interior of the room were amazingly stylish and colorful, which was a welcome surprise. In our room we had an elaborate tea and snack table and a large bathroom. There was even a shovel available for free to take to Hot Water Beach!

Upon arrival, everything was neat and clean. The surrounding gardens were quiet and ensured a good night's rest. Shops, restaurants and the beach were all within walking distance.
The staff we met us at the reception were very friendly and told us all about the ins and outs of Hahei and its possible activities. They are truly doing a great job on this place and we won't forget it soon.

If we ever were to return to Hahei (and let's hope so), this is our place to be!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful owners, grounds, and accommodations! Beach toys, laundry, a jug of milk for a "cuppa" upon arrival. Walk down to the beach, to Cathedral Cove, grocery store and eateries next door. Hot Water Beach a short drive. Check out the Frying Scotsman Fish 'n Chips in Cooks Beach!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayhawk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely comfortable motel room where all of the little extras had been thought of. We just stayed for 1 night but I could have happily stayed a lot longer.. The pub next door just needs to hurry up and open!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saez0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The motel is minutes away from the beach, short drive from the cathedral cove and hot water beach. The staff are helpful, proactive and friendly. The two bedroom unit is large and sunny. Great value for money. Will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HooiYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were supposed to stay in hahei for about 3-4 days, we ended up staying there 10 days instead! Beautiful location, friendly staff and a good "backpacker atmosphere" ... And they have a very nice BBQ area :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMajsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

- Good location
- Clean
- Friendly staff but the owner can be more friendly to her team, together you can make a difference
- No free wifi
- Nice extra stuff for free like frisbee, beach tennis, football, volleyball, rugby ball etc
- Good beds
- Medium size hostel
- Enough equipment in the kitchen
- Stayed 3 nights
- I will be here again

You need a car to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Property: Tatahi Lodge Motel
Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing