We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have been in Hahei in last January! It is a very low key place to go!
Peter and Kay are great hosts. The room is big and comfortable! The breakfast is delicious!
Thank you for everything!

Eduardo and Dayse

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Friendly welcome, spacious room and shared access to a spa pool, plus good advice on local attractions and eateries.

Ended up at their recommendation of the Old Church at the other end of town and had a very nice meal followed by a soak in the Spa pool.

Brekkie the next morning was very good and set us up for a long trip around the coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "pa" room for 2 nights earlier this week and really enjoyed it!
What you will like
- the house (built by Peter himself) is really beautiful and the room is spacious
- breakfast lovely and plentiful ( we had the pancakes and the French toast- yum)
- great location - close to must see attractions
- awesome water pressure (in the shower)
- great conversations with Kay and Peter
- free and fast wifi

What you can see/ visit
- cathedral cove - must do 1.5 hr walk. Peter offered to drive us to the start point but we went ourselves. Go early to avoid the batches of people coming! And to get a car spot
- hot water beach- Peter and Kay offer a bucket and shovel for you to use and to our surprise the water is actually hot! Not like warm! You can even boil an egg! It is busy with people and we only dipped our feet in
- Kay suggested Shakespeare cliff ( about 20? min drive) which has a panoramic view that is really stunning of the whole Bay Area. Really worth doing. Just note that the road is very pebbly and quite narrow- I have no idea how 2 cars fit down the road) but its not that busy, I don't think many people know about it
- there's also new chums beach ( 1 hr drive away) which is nice if you want to swim on a less busy beach- just know you do have to walk over a whole section of rocks which is obviously uneven and unpleasant with thongs. It's not that well marked but you will see people walking on the path so you know where to go.

Must try
- Go vino restaurant in the cooks beach area (15 mins) tapas style but not Spanish tapas very cool dishes that are creative, very yummy and well priced. We felt it was better than the church restaurant

Great stay ! Thanks Kay and Peter!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McSweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was our 3rd B&B in our tour of North Island, and our hosts were so helpful and friendly! We enjoyed our breakfasts on the sundeck, and being able to walk to the beach and Cathedral Cove. Having a separate entrance to our room was also a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 February 2015
Thanks JeannieUK
we do try our best to please. We note that we added on that separate entrance a couple of years ago and it has been a great success for our guests. Cool !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our hosts were extremely welcoming with excellent local knowledge. They told us of a simply wonderful, unspoilt beach that few others in the area had even heard of - finding this beach was a highlight of our North Island experience. They also drove us to Cathedral Cove car park to start our walk along the cliffs: the car park gets very full early in the day so this was very helpful. And they provided a shovel for our Hot Water Beach experience! Laundry was done for us at no extra charge.

Cathedral Cove is an hour’s walk, Hot Water Beach a 20 minute drive from the B&B. Coromandel town is an hour’s drive over the 309 gravel road, or a bit longer on a paved road.

Breakfasts were excellent and served outside on the big deck. There is an excellent hot tub that we used each night. Parking was easy and the wifi worked well.

We had a large room with a view out to the ocean. However, larger people may find the shower enclosure a challenge as it isn’t very big. The bed was big and comfortable and the area is quiet and dark - a good place to see stars on a moonless night.

This is an excellent and very welcoming B&B to explore the Coromandel area.

Our hosts recommended the Church restaurant, which is a 10 minute walk away; this restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here in November and loved it. We had the Pa room with wonderful views. Great hosts and don't forget the spade for digging at Hot Water Beach which is great fun and should not be missed!
The walk to Cathedral Cove is quite spectacular. A great base for this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed for two nights at this B&B, in 'the Pa', with a stunning view of the Hahei bay. Very comfortable rooms. Extremely friendly hosts, who clearly love to accomodateand please their guests. Memorable breakfast out on the deck on both days, also offering a chance to chat with other guests. A place to come back to ...
Apart from wonderful nearby Cathedral Cove - but do not underestimate the walk to/from the parking lot ...), Hahei itself has limited options to visit, but a morning or evening walk on the beach is the perfect thing to start or end the day

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hahei Horizon Bed and Breakfast! Our home is nestled amongst native trees on the hill, overlooking the beautiful beach at Hahei. We invite you to come and spend a night or two with us and share what this wonderful place has to offer. All of our three rooms enjoy their own private decks, the stunning views of the village, the ocean and islands beyond. Guests enjoy breakfast on the deck in the mornings and after a busy day of adventure you can now relax and enjoy the views in our open air spa. Hahei is on the Coromandel Peninsula on the east coast of North Island, New Zealand. It’s a stunning piece of coastline that provides a mecca for New Zealand holiday makers and overseas visitors alike. The outlook is superb and there are countless things to do and see whether you are budding adventurers or just want to relax and unwind. Hahei is the gateway to world renowned Cathedral Cove. 5 minutes drive sees you at Hot Water Beach and close by the many other beautiful Mercury Bay attractions. The rest of the Peninsula lays in wait not much further a field. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing