We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, homely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived Good Friday and welcomed by Peter & Kay, and Jed! We had 2 nights in the Cove and 1 night in the Bach. The Cove had incredible views and comfortable environment. The Bach was ever so quiet and had a beautiful view of their gardens. Peter & Kay are fantastic hosts, giving us great advice on what to see, when to see it and places to eat. You can really tell they love the area.

The breakfast was on another level. The fluffiest scramble eggs ever.

Room Tip: Cove for the view. Bach for peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks Guys, it is great to get a review to compare our two different rooms, each with their own attributes. Hope the rest of your break was as nice as your stay with us. Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Perfectly located for the beach and as a centre to explore the surrounding area. We spent two nights here as part of a tour of NZ in February 2014 but really could have spent longer as there is so much to do in the area. It is a perfect base very comfortable and your hosts, Peter and Kay have useful suggestions and good contacts with local services to make things possible. Breakfast on the decking was brilliant, informal and plenty of choice. We would recommend the sea kayaking which took in Cathedral Cove, and a visit to Hot Sands Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pa room which had its own decking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for your favourable review. We love hosting people from all around the world and absolutely love recommending places to visit in our area. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A fabulous place to stay, where you can drink in the stunning view from every terrace. Peter & Kay, the hosts, go that extra mile to really look after their guests, from booking us in at a local restaurant to driving us to the start of the amazing Cathedral Cove walk. We loved this place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks, it is lovely to host New Zealanders and show them our little slice of our paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently spent 3 nights in this lovely accommodation and area. Peter and Kay were the perfect hosts who did everything possible to ensure that our stay with them was memorable. The facilities were excellent as too was the view from our room overlooking the beach at Hahei. We were furnished with lots of information about the area and places to visit and we were not disappointed by any of it. A really treasured experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks, it is nice to host fellow New Zealanders and show them our special part of the country

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for two nights with three people in the PA room. The third person was a last minute extra, so was a littlebit improvised but very well done.
We loved our stay. The bed is very good, free fast wifi, fantastic view, breakfast was delicious outside on the terrace. The shovel for Hot Water Beach is there for you. Extra towels for the beach. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for two nights here on our way round North Island. The whole Coromandel Peninsula is beautiful, and this is perhaps the most idyllic part of it. Look at the photos on this site - it is really like this! The b/b is all that other people have said, great hosts, wonderful breakfasts, scenic places to visit. We ate at both The Church in the village and Go Vino at Cook's Beach, and found Go Vino the better of the two and well worth the short drive. It was interesting to meet other guests, and to talk to Kay and Peter about their way of life in Hahei. We'd certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor gets the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay with Kay and Peter
very scenic and beautiful area
we appreciated having an apartment there
Kay and Peter were very friendly and made us feel very welcome
their breakfast was very enjoyable served on the terrace with beautiful views
we had a lovely meal in the church on their recommendation
Thank you Kay and Peter Kind regards Peter and Margaret

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range: £158 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hahei Horizon Bed and Breakfast! Our home is nestled amongst native trees on the hill, overlooking the beautiful beach at Hahei. We invite you to come and spend a night or two with us and share what this wonderful place has to offer. All of our three rooms enjoy their own private decks, the stunning views of the village, the ocean and islands beyond. Guests enjoy breakfast on the deck in the mornings and after a busy day of adventure you can now relax and enjoy the views in our open air spa. Hahei is on the Coromandel Peninsula on the east coast of North Island, New Zealand. It’s a stunning piece of coastline that provides a mecca for New Zealand holiday makers and overseas visitors alike. The outlook is superb and there are countless things to do and see whether you are budding adventurers or just want to relax and unwind. Hahei is the gateway to world renowned Cathedral Cove. 5 minutes drive sees you at Hot Water Beach and close by the many other beautiful Mercury Bay attractions. The rest of the Peninsula lays in wait not much further a field. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing