We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot but poor amenities”

Cathedral Cove Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
US$275.33*
and up
Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely spot but poor amenities”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely spot, very soft sand and a famous area. However it is a long walk so not for those who struggle walking, as no refreshments at the bottom at all! We had very poor weather when we went there sadly. If it had been nice weather, there is a un-supervised snorkel trail in the water where you climb off some rocks before cathedral cove, probably a nice idea on a very calm day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    356
    45
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It's a fairly arduous trek up and down to Cathedral Cove. But outing your foot down on the soft sand and catching a glimpse of the aquamarine water makes it all worthwhile. Just walking through the cove it was fun to see people enjoying the beauty and serenity of the pristine environment. It was a very special day indeed. During the walk back, it seems as if the cattle are grazing in a garden, it is that beautiful. Just be careful not to lose your way coming back as there are several pathways diverting your exit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Amazing beach tucked away with the backdrop of some interesting formations - the only way to get there is a 30 minute walk (signs say 40 mins but that is being cautious) or by boat. I imagine it will get busy as a key tourist site in the height of summer. Worth the walk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungryTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It is a nice walk from the carpark to the cathedral cove. I suggest you put on your walking shoes because it isn't flat terrain.
On a sunny day you can enjoy the beach and have a swim or kayak around. It must be fantastic to enjoy the sunset here (do bring a torch for the way back)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jochem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the sore legs! (and no snakes!)”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Well I am old and unfit but I am so glad I did this walk! The payoff is the most beautiful beach and rock formations. Take your time, take some water, persevere, or maybe you are like the fit people who passed me, walking in their thongs or even the lady in her gold high heel sandals (not recommended!), we all made it. I envied the kayakers too, that looked fun, getting there via the sea. Another thing I love about NZ is no snakes. I am phobic about them. Walking along a trail not having to worry about rustling in the scrub, or what I might tread on, well just another reason to love this country!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieIbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Walk also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing