We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Christchurch
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Secluded hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Church is set in the seaside town of Hahei. It is a short walk/drive to the lovely beach, Cathedral Cove and a 5 minute drive to Hot Water beach.
All of the units look out on to a lovely garden. The smaller studios have a fridge and microwave and the larger family apartments have a more substantial kitchen should you wish to cook. The on site restaurant provides lovely meals in the evenings. There is also a central area with a small library, TV's and DVDs you can borrow, and a BBQ area.
The rooms are like little cottages and have a lovely balcony area.
We loved it.

Room Tip: The larger units have better cooking facilities and two bedrooms. The smaller units are studio style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    82
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
226
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The Church was recommended to us several times we also read the awesome reviews on TA we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful for which we are grateful..
Sadly we found our one bedroom cottage to be tired and in cared for we were informed that the whole place was up for sale as the present owners had been there for 16+ years and wanted out... I believe this shows !!! I'm sure the Church will be wonderful again in new ownership so much could be made of this fantastic place.... For us it showed lack of care.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NzDaytripper, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Paul,we are sorry your expectations were not met.The people who recommended the Church to you presumably enjoyed their experience enough to make their recommendations.We never portray ourselves as anything other than what we offer,simple wooden cottages,set in native bush and gardens,clean and tidy,friendly helpful staff,who make all efforts to make our guests stay a pleasant one.The business is presently for sale and as you say any new owner will want to make changes they see as appropriate.We don't ''want out ''as you suggest and will continue to operate the business with enthusiasm and energy until we no longer own it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

It is great to have accommodation options like this. Designed to be different. The ways they have mirrored the old style cottage was effective. Timber and stark ceilings,French doors etc. Bathroom was modern and the small kitchenette had all we needed. We read the studios were noisy so opted for the more expensive cottage,quiet and roomy. The tv was very small and no extra channels we watched the rugby in the communial area. Our tv had no remote....oops finally found stuck inside a chair! The place is currently for sale sadly it showed in the lack of upkeep in the gardens.we hope it sells to owners who will upgrade it all a bit preserving its modern but iconic feel.

Room Tip: The cottages are best.qe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night here and both wish we would have planned our trip to stay longer.
Our friends know the owners and said it could not be missed. While a little on the pricey side for an extended stay it would be worth it.
The rooms are beautifully put together and incredibly clean.
We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant unfortunately. Make a reservation early if you want to eat there!
Perfectly located to all of the attractions you want to see in Cormandel.
Only slightly negative thing is that wifi doesn't reach the rooms.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaleyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Church is a fabulous place to say and is in a great location in Hahei.
The accomodation is private chalets within the bush. we were very lucky as ours was the last one and the veranda looked out onto virgin bush.
The chalets are beautiful inside with a large living area including bed, kitchen area and wood burning stove. There is a seperate double bedroom and bathroom. We even had a family of baby birds with their mother on the veranda.
The family who own it are lovely and really helpful, you can tell they take pride in the hotel it's a shame it's up for sale.
The restaurant, which is the old church, is seperately run. The food and atmoshere are really good. It is a tapas style menu, the staff are great - highly recommended

Room Tip: All great though some are bigger than others, ask for a larger chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizEaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loubes-Bernac, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Coramondel Pennisula is a wonderful place and The Church a great location to stay.
I found everything completely satisfactory including the restaurant which I used on both nights of stay.
The cabin was very comfortable and very spacious.
The staff very friendly and helpful.
Can't comment on price as it was part of self drive tour package, but would certainly return if ever back in the area.
Should mention that the business is for sale but did not seem to have negative effect and the restaurant is a separate business anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Really nice setting. Lovely cottages with everything you need. Tad pricey for what it is. But very nice and friendly reception staff.
Rooms were clean. They provide tea, coffee and milk in the fridge. Don't bother with the church restaurant.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommyredbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
17.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
3.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Property: The Church Accommodation
Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing