We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife, 9mth old son and I visited and found the place very peaceful. The cabins have a very nice, rustic feel to them and are clean and well presented.

Eating was a slight challenge though - the kitchenette was very simple and didn't include an oven, let alone a dishwasher. The wouldn't be a problem in most holiday areas but Hahei has very limited dining (and grocery shopping) options and self catering would have been convenient for us. Fortunately, the restaurant adjacent to the accommodation was very good (despite its sometimes mediocre reviews).

We were unlucky to have bad weather (ie a cyclone) during our stay so were somewhat confined to our room and missed having a regular TV and lounge suite but did appreciate that the very modest TV in the room and DVD player.

I think that this is a very nice place for a short stay or romantic getaway but would be keen to look for a better kitchen and private laundry for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent two nights in a self contained cottage, warmed by a wood fire and situated amongst beautiful bush and gardens. Very cosy for this time of year. We enjoyed our tapas in the restaurant which is a beautiful old church building. We loved the location being a short stroll away from the beach. The staff were friendly and welcoming, thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylishAgnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading the reviews, we were expecting it to be "a bit tired", but we didn't think this was the case at all. Our unit was clean and fresh, with furniture that fits the rustic, charming theme. The unit was spacious, and cosy, especially with the fire going, which was so efficient, we had to open all the windows when we got back from dinner, to cool it down a bit. It looks as if all the units open out onto a deck and lovely native gardens with total privacy. OK, so maybe the grounds could do with a bit of sprucing up, but that is probably more to do with the time of year. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Definitely has potential, but as is, this place is a really delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mignonandchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This place has the potential to be the best place for miles around. It has a great location, lovely separate self contained rooms but the whole place needs some love and attention. If feels tired and uncared for. A lovely restaurant on site with amazing food but bizarrely offering a tapas menu in an old church. However the food was excellent and So was the service. The rooms were just a little tired, no attention to detail and those little touches which would make this a good venue. We paid much less for much better elsewhere locally

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We found the hotel to be tired and wanting in service. Did not tidy or room for the second night, we had to request new dry towels- towels will not dry in the room overnight. Yes, it was off season, bot reception was closes and unavailable by 7:30 pm an not available again until 8:30 am the next dat - how to check out - leave a msg on a cell phone. Great location, but no one is paying attention unlike the other 5 hotel/motels we stayed in as we toured the N island.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Church is set in the seaside town of Hahei. It is a short walk/drive to the lovely beach, Cathedral Cove and a 5 minute drive to Hot Water beach.
All of the units look out on to a lovely garden. The smaller studios have a fridge and microwave and the larger family apartments have a more substantial kitchen should you wish to cook. The on site restaurant provides lovely meals in the evenings. There is also a central area with a small library, TV's and DVDs you can borrow, and a BBQ area.
The rooms are like little cottages and have a lovely balcony area.
We loved it.

Room Tip: The larger units have better cooking facilities and two bedrooms. The smaller units are studio style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The Church was recommended to us several times we also read the awesome reviews on TA we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful for which we are grateful..
Sadly we found our one bedroom cottage to be tired and in cared for we were informed that the whole place was up for sale as the present owners had been there for 16+ years and wanted out... I believe this shows !!! I'm sure the Church will be wonderful again in new ownership so much could be made of this fantastic place.... For us it showed lack of care.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NzDaytripper, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Paul,we are sorry your expectations were not met.The people who recommended the Church to you presumably enjoyed their experience enough to make their recommendations.We never portray ourselves as anything other than what we offer,simple wooden cottages,set in native bush and gardens,clean and tidy,friendly helpful staff,who make all efforts to make our guests stay a pleasant one.The business is presently for sale and as you say any new owner will want to make changes they see as appropriate.We don't ''want out ''as you suggest and will continue to operate the business with enthusiasm and energy until we no longer own it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
5.7 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
3.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Road, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing