We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful situation”
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful situation”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Well, what can I say - this accommodation just had to be the best that we stayed in during our three weeks in New Zealand! The position is to die for. The darling hosts were a fantastic double act! The rooms beautifully clean and the beds very comfortable. Our breakfasts, on the terrace overlooking the sea, were simply delicious and varied each morning. A perfect situation to explore the region. Thank you Joe for the loan of the Kayak! What fun that was. We will certainly be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Such a great spot, overlooking the glorious Hahei beach, and a short walk to the pah from which you can look all the way down the beach one way and at the sunrise the other (recommended for an early start but it's much easier with a touch of jetlag).

Joe and Raewyn are great hosts, immediatly making you feel totally comfortable in their home and serving a top quality breakfast, great coffee and innovative pre-dinner canapes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmactraveller
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Perfectly located on the beach front with stunning views across the Pacific Ocean. We walked from here to Cathedral Cove drove the short distance to Hot Water Beach - we couldn't have found a better place to stay. Raewyn and Joe were very hospitable hosts - booking dinner for us and advising us on where to explore. The breakfasts at Hahei Oceanfront were fantastic, we were greeted with homemade shortbread - you won't find a better place to stay on the Coromandel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a superb hotel: I loved the sleek modern architecture, the friendly welcome from Joe and Raewyn, the clean, comfortable room and big shower (something so many good hotels fail to get right), and then you see the view... wow! The back terrace overlooks a stunning beach, looking one way towards a lush green headland (with a Maori pa apparently), straight ahead to a number of rocky islands, and the other down the length of the gorgeous white sand. Now some people might be put off by the presence of a long line of tractors but personally I loved it - they're pretty photogenic and add to the character of the place. Where else in the world would you see that?!

Breakfast was pretty tasty and, while normally I don't like to have to share a table with other guests, here the view and hosts made it all feel pretty relaxed and sociable.

On top of all that, it's a very short drive (or a long-ish walk) to the beautiful Cathedral Cove in one direction, and a short drive the other to Hot Water Beach. One tip: get there really early, or you'll end up missing out on the prime spots and sitting in cold water (which you can pretty much do anywhere).

So yes, this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights in January in this wonderful placed Bed and Breakfast. Views are magic. Our hosts were more than helpful and always available for us. The rooms are modern and breakfast was served with everything we expected. We would come back any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pb o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary at Hahei Oceanfront and it was the most amazing experience. Joe and Raewyn made us feel right at home as soon as we entered the door. My wife almost cried when she saw the views. We spent two weeks in New Zealand and the three nights we spent at Hahei Oceanfront were our favorite! It is located just minutes from Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Joe and Raewyn gave great advice about where/what we should do. What everyone has said in the reviews about the breakfast is true! Great homemade museli, and eggs, etc., again the best we had on our trip in NZ. I know in reviews you should list one thing you did not like, well I honestly could not think of one! We are now totally ruined with B&B because no other one can live up to this one! Thank you Joe and Raewyn for some amazing memories!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at Hahei oceanfront B&B for 2 nights and we were looking forward to stay there to relax after our 3 weeks hectic trip around New Zealand.
The house is absolutely stunning. Refined design and comfy features all around the house. The breakfast is also to die for, the home made muesli is delicious and if you like, you would have omelette and bacon. You won't need to eat lunch. The breakfast is served on the terrace facing the ocean, which is the greatest feeling ever. Nice attention, there was a french flag on the breakfast table, which we really appreciated. The house is located right at the beach, you are litterally 30 seconds away from the water. It is the most relaxing feeling ever.
The bedroom was tastefully decorated and the ensuite bathroom was incredible. The only thing that I would say is that the room would not have a full view on the ocean, which was a little deceptive.
The only thing to remember is that Hahei Oceanfront is a B&B and not a hotel! If you like to have your privacy and have a romantic getaway, I would not recommended this place. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and very kind in any possible way, but we like to have our privacy and not have to force ourselves to interact with people when we don't feel like it. Same for the breakfast, you have to be sitting with the other guests which we did not like so much. Finally, I think the place was a little overpriced. I would still recommend this place if you like the B&B ambiance as this is the best in Hahei.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Krabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
18.2 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Property: Hahei Oceanfront
Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing