We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best start of our holidays”
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best start of our holidays”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We loved being there. Magnificant views from the room and the house. And the best hosts and the best breakfast so far. We had a school of dophins playing around, when we took the boattrip from the beach just down the house. The best way to get over your jetlag, go Hahei Oceanfront.
Saskia and Pim from the Netherland.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

There is a lot to do and beautiful places to see on the Coromandel peninsula, but it was hard to drag yourself away from the spectacular beachfront ocean views from the terrace at Hahei Oceanfront. Hahei beach is breathtakingly beautiful.
The accommodation was wonderful, the breakfasts delicious and the hosts, Joe and Raewyn, are gracious, thoughtful, good fun and knowledgeable tourist guides. We were hosted to and appreciated pre dinner drinks and NZ cheese and use of the kayak.
We were there in the second week of December 2012. It was quiet, relaxing and the weather was perfect for both the beach and for walking.
Thanks to our hosts and to D for finding such a great place to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary.
We loved it.
H & D (Melbourne, Aust.)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenKavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and we must say this was the highlight of our honeymoon. The owners are so welcoming and kind. They greeted us with a smile right away. Each day they would make great recommendations for different activities and where to go for lunch and dinner. They treated us with drinks and nibbles, and their breakfasts were unbelievable. The pictures of their location, no matter how beautiful, do not do it justice. This is an untouched paradise, unmatched by any other location on coromandel. It truly is an oceanfront with the most spectacular view imaginable. There is no better B&B. I highly recommend Hahei Oceanfront for your next luxury vacation.

Room Tip: Loved the Mahurangi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

What a beautiful setting. Views are breathtaking, breakfast delectable, venue is stylish and modern, with beautiful simplicities. The hosts were gracious and very helpful and welcoming. We had a short stay, but would love to return to this little peace of heaven. Adel and Stefan (South Africa)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a short stay at Oceanfront before the start of a busy weekend. What a fabulous place to catch your breath. The beach is beautiful and the accommodation well appointed and the atmosphere serene and restful Joe and Raewyn were the most gracious hosts with Raewyn cooking us a beautiful breakfast and Joe making a wonderful coffee. We felt we came as stangers to Oceanfront and left as friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Well, what can I say - this accommodation just had to be the best that we stayed in during our three weeks in New Zealand! The position is to die for. The darling hosts were a fantastic double act! The rooms beautifully clean and the beds very comfortable. Our breakfasts, on the terrace overlooking the sea, were simply delicious and varied each morning. A perfect situation to explore the region. Thank you Joe for the loan of the Kayak! What fun that was. We will certainly be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Such a great spot, overlooking the glorious Hahei beach, and a short walk to the pah from which you can look all the way down the beach one way and at the sunrise the other (recommended for an early start but it's much easier with a touch of jetlag).

Joe and Raewyn are great hosts, immediatly making you feel totally comfortable in their home and serving a top quality breakfast, great coffee and innovative pre-dinner canapes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Property: Hahei Oceanfront
Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing