We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We unfortunately only had one night at the Purangi Gardens, oh how we wished it was forever!! We arrived in the afternoon on a monday (after spending a long weekend at a wedding) just for the night as we wanted to try and do the loop of the Coromandel in 2 days. We were greeted by Susan who instantly made us feel wonderfully welcome and showed us to our Sunflower Chalet right on the waters edge, and gave us fresh baked brown bread (which was amazing) and fresh fruit from the trees on the property, we were even offered a fresh salad from the garden for dinner if we liked but we fell asleep quite early and awoke later that night to a thunder and lightning storm breaking across the bay, an amazing sight to see from our chalet!!
The next morning we awoke to what we were told was the first proper spring day, the sun was shining and the entire property was glowing with life! The fresh eggs from the chooks out back were the perfect start to the day which we spent kayaking around the bay and lying in the grass! We decided to scrap our plans of rushing around trying to fit everything in in one day and I highly recommend you work your travel plans around your stay here, stay as long as possible because you will not want to leave. This made our holiday, we were even considering the repercussions of not going back to Melbourne! We're already planning on returning, but for much longer next time!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhOD1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Purangi Gardens Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Purangi Gardens was the first stop on our round-the-world trip, and New Zealand the first of 16 countries. We wanted something a bit secluded and quiet, mostly just to get our bearings, and ease into the thought of traveling for months and months. We could not have been happier with our choice--in fact, my youngest daughter's favorite place to stay the whole trip was Purangi Gardens.

We stayed in the Orchard House, which was pretty much perfect. If you don't like falling asleep to crickets and waking up to birds, this is probably not the place for you. If you have no stomach for bees or other bugs, then you shouldn't be staying in the middle of an orchard, anyway. The house is comfortable and big enough for a family of 5, with all the basics covered. It is indeed secluded, and a little hard to find at first. Lees Road is all dirt, and probably best traveled in an SUV, although our cheap rental car seemed to survive it OK.

We spent a ton of time running around the orchard and picking fresh fruit every day, as well as just sitting on the deck and reading. Trips to Hahei and Cathedral Cove are pretty close. Whitianga is probably worth visiting once just for a restaurant, but it doesn't have a lot to offer if you're looking for city amenities.

One note: There really are no grocery stores close to Purangi. It's a good idea to swing through Hahei or Whitianga on your inbound journey to load up on bread, cereal, drinks, etc. Of course, you might just be able to pick enough fruit to keep you well-fed for your entire stay there, if you're lucky.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatthepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed at Purangi House many times. A very special magical place that we would urge everyone to sample. The views and locations are amazing and Rod and Sue are the most helpful and welcoming hosts you would ever want to meet.

Room Tip: Purangi House we have found the best accommodation with its access straight to the beach and amazing...
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsLassNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was one of the highlights of our trip. After our long flight to Auckland from Los Angeles we toured downtown Auckland and made our way to the Coromandel region (which is stunningly beautiful). At first we were concerned because it wasn't easy to find Purangi Gardens. This was our first night in New Zealand.

After traveling down a long dirt road we found our place. We stayed in the Lavender unit and arrived to a loaf of freshly baked bread, amazing fruits (guacamole, plums, etc.). We both agreed that Sue's bread was the best single food item we had while in New Zealand (and the food in New Zealand is incredible).

They have organic gardens, kayaks, and beautiful scenery. We went to sleep with the windows open and the sound of a soft rain with the smell of lovely flowers. The next morning we used the kayaks to cruise around the bay. We only wish we'd had more time to spend in the area but we had an ambitious trip to try and see a lot of NZ.

One insight - in reading the Guest Book we found that this is a getaway destination for Australian's and Kiwi's so that should tell you something. Honestly, we wouldn't have stayed here because it wasn't easily linked with some of the bigger travel sites and had so few reviews here. But I can tell you that this was our favorite place that we stayed the entire trip and we stayed at a lot of fantastic places (the Kiwi's do hospitality well).

Thanks again to Rod and Sue. You have something special here and we hope to be able to come back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawardenhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I had no idea places like this existed. The proprietors were so welcoming and friendly, including the cat which visited me every morning. The location is heartbreakingly beautiful, right in the midst of some of the most stunning scenery that Coromandel has to offer. It's right on the water so you can kayak right from the property, but it's also a quick drive to Hahei for Cathedral Cove Kayak tours. Hot Water Beach is just a bit farther down the road.

The chalet was downright enchanting and very comfortable, set in a gorgeous garden setting. I am certain I'll be back someday, and will spend much more time kayaking, exploring the on-site walking trails, and just hanging out on the front porch!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegasGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We've traveled New Zealand several times as we have family there, but Purangi Gardens has to be one the best places we have stayed. The Coromandel Peninsula is breath-taking, and you get to enjoy the very best of it at Purangi Gardens. We stayed in the Orchard House, which is lovely in and of itself. The whole house is made of native timbers, which are warm and inviting. There are lots of personal touches that make it seem like a real home rather than a vacation home. There is a large veranda out front, part of which is covered. The two bedrooms are basic, but plenty comfortable. The larger bedroom has a queen bed, and plenty of room for the pack 'n play/port-a-cot for the baby. The smaller bedroom has a double, a single, and a loft area that could also be used for sleeping. There is a full bathroom with tub and shower on the first floor. The second floor has a toilet. There is also a washing machine, but no dryer, which is common in NZ. The gardens surrounding the house are amazing as is the view, particularly from the larger bedroom upstairs. The only reason I gave the cleanliness four stars is there were ants and some six-legged friends that were a bit of a nuisance, but nothing more.

There were a couple personal touches that really made us feel welcome. We loved the heaping bowl of fresh citrus from the orchard that was there on our arrival. The fireplace/stove was already loaded for us when we arrived, so all we had to do was light a match. A huge basket of firewood was loaded next to the fireplace as well. We've stayed many places where we have to run out to load firewood, scrounge up newspaper or use our unwanted tourist info sheets for kindling. Amazing what a small detail like that makes to a weary traveler. We later realized the gorgeous floral arrangements all throughout the house were also fresh flowers from the garden. When my husband went to pay, Sue heard we were having scallops for dinner and she cut fresh salad greens and herbs from her garden and shared them with us. We were able to go digging for shellfish (clams and mussels) right off the property (about 1.5 km from the Orchard House). Next door is a Macademia Farm that was really fun to visit as well. Across the road there were organic avocados 3 for $2. Down the road were organic free range eggs. We were there during winter, but you can eat all sorts of fruit right off the tree other seasons.

The only drawback is it is a drive to most places, so be prepared to drive, even into Hahei or to Hot Water Beach. That said, I'm so glad we stayed here, rather than right on the beach, because some sort of vehicle is necessary if you plan to visit the area. I guess you could get around by bicycle if you're very fit, but it would take a while. There are many beautiful beaches and DOC walks right near the house, within 10 minutes driving. You could stay weeks without running out of new places to explore. Whitianga is a larger city with a real grocery store, bank, pharmacy, etc., and is about 30 minutes driving, and the ferry takes about 20 minutes including the time it takes to get to the ferry from the house. I would suggest stocking up on basic pantry items in Whitianga, because you'll have so much fun on the Purangi side that you won't want to go into the city for small things.

You might read about the Scallop Festival in Whitianga. We were really excited about it, but found out it cost $50 per person to enter, which did not include scallops! Since it was winter, it was kind of exciting to see people come out of the woodwork, but since we were on holiday, it was only fun for 10 minutes. There is a great little shop called Mosaic in Whitianga that sells local art (and some NZ made things). We decided to drive across to Coromandel Town where there were no crowds, and had a great time. In Coromandel Town, we bought $30 worth of scallops at the smokehouse, brought them home and feasted on an amazing dinner.

This was my mother's first visit to New Zealand, and she keeps saying the next time we go, we can drop her off at Purangi Gardens (this time she wants to stay in a chalet right on the water) and pick her back up when we leave. She has told all her friends how wonderful it was, and she is not an easy person to please. We all LOVED staying at Purangi Gardens, and feel we got to experience the best the Coromandel has to offer. We had such a fun time as a family hanging out and just being together. I cannot wait to go back, and plan to stay at least two weeks. Of all the places we have stayed, this is the one place I can see myself coming back to over and over again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcwelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in a Yurt at Purangi Garden which was set away near an orchard. It had a gas BBQ on the deck, 2 double beds, TV/DVD, books, games and was fully stocked for a self-contained stay. We were given fresh fruit from the orchard upon arrival but apart from that we were left to our own devices which was nice. It was so peacful at night with the sound of wildlife surrounding us. It is a bit out of the way so you do need a car/bike to get around. Lovely peaceful beach at the main house and free use of kayaks. Lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcallycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
3.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
65 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Church Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
430 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purangi Gardens Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purangi Gardens Accommodation

Address: 321 Less Rd., Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing