We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret paradise... A lovely house in an orchard with beautiful views and a short drive to the beach....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A secret paradise... A lovely house in an orchard with beautiful views and a short drive to the beach....”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

There are a few accommodation options at Purangi Gardens and all have their own charms.... We stayed in Orchard House. Like many others we have fallen in love with this place and have returned several times. Sue & Rod are wonderful hosts and the garden and orchard setting are idyllic. The house is so comfortable and user friendly. It is a short drive to Hahei beach or to the private beach by the chalets.
We only share this information secure in the knowledge that our booking for next year is already made!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTMVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to New Zealand, the last 5 days were spent at the Yurt. What a wonderful way to end our holiday. It was great coming back to the yurt after a day of touring the Coromandel region. The kids had space to play, they picked and are plums from the orchard and it was lovely to be able to cook dinner on the open deck, looking out at the spectacular scenery. You feel like you are camping in the middle of nowhere, but you have all the comforts of home. The yurt is huge and the beds are very comfortable. Thank you Rod and Susan for making us feel very welcome,

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninajane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our family stayed at Purangi House for 5 nights recently and the place was beyond what we expected. This place is a little gem, hidden down the end of a 5 km unsealed road, past a macadamia farm and with spectacular views before your car reaches the house. We were greeted by Susan, her beautiful flowers and a bowl full of fruit grown in her orchard. As you walk through the front door, you'll be greeted by spectacular views of Mercury Bay. As you enter the main bedroom, Mercury Bay mesmerises you once more. You'll have access to your own private beach. We spent alot of time on this beach because whether it's low tide or high tide, there's always enough sand and shade for the kids to play on. Around the corner on the right is an estuary where Captian Cook supposedly stopped to get a drink of water. The location is perfect, close to Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove and only a short drive to Whitianga where you can do your shopping. The house is well equipped with everything you may need. If you want a place with the traditional NZ bach character and great hospitality without paying over the top for it, then this place would be that and more. We'll be back here for sure on our next trip to NZ. Thanks Susan for running a place that is so unique and wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maitaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Purangi gardens sunflower chalet. This accommodation is so secluded that you almost feel that your miles from anywhere when infact Hahei is just 10 mins drive away. There are two chalets located in the hosts garden, Sunflower chalet with a view of the water and Lavender chalet with a view of the countryside. Its all very back to nature and very popular with NZ families who love to just get away from it all. There are kayaks on site and a secluded beach. If you bring enough provisions you wouldn't need to leave the accommodation. The chalets are very comfortable and well equipped. If you want to find out whats going on in the outside world there is even free wifi. The hosts were very welcoming and after a show and tell of the garden you left you to your own devices.

Room Tip: Sunflower chalet view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspoppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Purangi garden! Most amazing place I accidentally stayed at!
We stayed at Purangi House for one night. I say that it was accident because we found this place around 11PM. Accommodation near by Hahei were fully booked and we were calling everywhere trying to find a place to sleep for a night. Susan was kind enough to let us stay there for just a overnight. It was most amazing place we stayed, amazing view, large spacious rooms, private beach, and warm hospitality. Susan gave us fruits and fresh baked bread since she knew we had nothing to eat. I would stay here longer (much much Longer) next time I visit New Zealand. Thank you again for everything Susan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stopped in the Yurt for 2 nights. This is found by taking the entrance for orchard house and following the signs past the house up the gravel track. When you pull up you are greeted by a huge Yurt. If i'd won the lottery i would rent this place for a year.
The Yurt is that well equipped you could live there, the only thing it's missing is a washing machine. Outside on the decked area is a seperate toilet and shower room to the standard of any motel you will stop in on your travels. Inside to the left are two sofas and a tv. Towards the back are two double beds which can be partioned into rooms by curtains. To the right is a dining table, work surfaces, fridgefreezer and food storage area. The whole of the yurt is very tastefully decorated and highly comfortable. Outside is another dining table, seating, massive gas BBQ which is big enough to cook anything you want. Theres also a pizza oven, toaster and kettle and a sink area to clean up in.
The Yurt is set in an orchard which the hosts just say to you to help yourself to which is fantastic, quiet and beautiful to chill out in. You can park the car right outside too. The rest of the Purangi accomodation is down the main gravel road outside the property for about 1.5km.
Its worth the drive down there as thats where the beach and the kayaks are. We had a lovely afternoon paddling the kayaks up and down the river. The beach is small but it's only accessible by Purangi guests so we felt like we had found our own deserted beach at times.
The hosts are lovely people and were really helpful and even gave us a freshly picked bag of salad to take back to the yurt.
Tip. Don't wait till your in the Coromandel to do your food shopping, Get your provisions before heading up to Hahei as there's only a small shop which does have most things but its not cheap and some times a bit hit and miss on availibility.
Not just the Yurt but I believe the whole of the Purangi accomodation are great places to chill out and relax and catch the suns rays. Great place to stay if you want to visit Cathedral Cove or hot water beach.
The yurt is pure bliss and makes you feel your in such a special place. When we come back im definitley returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed in the Yurt was situated in a lovely orchard great balcony to eat dinner on at the end of the day. Hosts were easy going and lovely to deal with. The beach at the end of their garden is amazing and we had a great session in the kayaks they have which can be used for free. Reluctant to leave had a wonderful time and will be back. Highly recommended

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Athenscalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
3.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Church Accommodation
4.9 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
2.3 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purangi Gardens Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purangi Gardens Accommodation

Property: Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Address: 321 Less Rd., Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing