We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in the quaint Lavender Chaletfor 2 nights and loved everything about it. Sue and Rod are fantastic hosts who love sharing their beautiful property and making guests feel welcome. The accommodation was filled with character and was very clean and tidy. From providing fantastic fruit grown in the orchard to extra blankets incase we got cold (which we didn't even need) our every need was taken care of in this fantastic accommodation. Highly recommended for those looking to escape and be surrounded by nature. We only wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to heading back soon.

Room Tip: Both chalets are fantastic for couples or families with small children.The Yurt loooks like great fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TSDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a beautiful, tranquil place to relax and enjoy the scenery. We stayed in the Sunflower Chalet, which was a very cute cottage located just steps away from the river. We enjoyed paddling around in kayaks the owners had available for guests. We were only there one night but would have loved to have stayed much longer. To get there you drive down a gravel road for a couple of kilometers, but that just adds to the charm of the experience. Freshly baked bread, fruit from the orchard, flowers from the garden, and a beautiful view of the river were waiting for us upon our arrival. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pt.Lonsdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I returned for our fifth visit to Purangi Gardens. We stayed at Orchard House which we love for its homeliness and the beautiful gardens & orchards which surround it. Sue and Rod are wonderful hosts! The fresh flowers, fruit from the orchard, salad straight from the veggie patch, are the bounty from all the love, care and hard work they put into the gardens.
We just cherish the time we have at Purangi, Hahei and surrounds.
There is a store in Hahei, all the shops you could need in Whitianga (30 mins.drive) but we would recommend stocking up before you go if you want to cook at home.
Every comment in the Visitors Book says that people wish they had stayed longer... so we do!
Book early if you want a prized slot in the popular times.

Room Tip: Go chalet if you like cosy and in a charming little enclave or the Orchard House & Yurt if you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in Purangi House over christmas. It felt like a typical New Zealand bach. Beautiful views and beaches and the kayaks were a hit with the kids. The owners were so welcoming with flowers in each room, plums from their garden and helped my nephew look for his new Xmas present i-phone that he lost 4 days later!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived after a long journey from Singapore to Purangi Gardens Accomodation. It was exactly the peace, tranquility and charming place that we had dreamed about to collect ourselves. Sue and Rod welcomed us warmly with sweet and juicy plums and oranges. Sue had decorated the Orchard House with splendid bouquets of fresh flowers from the garden. The house is nested in the middle of a poetic landscape orchard garden with two tranquil ponds. On the wooden terrace, we enjoyed having breakfasts and a barbecue dinner. It was equipped with everything needed to prepare a nice meal. It is a lovely traditional family house where we immediately felt at home. The house is about 1km from the main property down by the waterfront where we could borrow kayaks to explore the surroundings. Nearby in Hahei, there is a little grocery shop, take-away, very good restaurant named The Church, not to mention Hot Sands beach and Cathedral Cove. Our time flew by and after 3 days we left with only regret not to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallkidsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed in the Sunflower Chalet for two nights. The owners are the right amount of accommodating. Appreciated the freshly baked loaf on arrival - goes well with the homemade jams in the fridge! Can't go wrong with BBQ's on the deck overlooking the estuary listening to the wildlife around with a bottle of wine - the perfect way to relax. The garden around is also plentiful and well stocked - the oranges were divine! Kayaks free to use so not a bad way to spend some time drifting around on the water. Short drives to Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Bit of a drive on the unpaved road to get to the property but nothing to worry about - my 1.5l very on-road city car managed just fine!

Room Tip: Sunflower chalet overlooks the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wow what a beautiful location and wonderful accommodations. We stayed for 2 nights to start our honeymoon. We loved the view from our bed staying in the sunflower chalet. Fresh eggs and bread along with fruit and jam's were provided for the days we were there. We got to kayak out and around the coromandel and it was spectacular. Make sure to visit Hot water beach , Salt and the lost spring.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
14.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.7 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
2.5 mi away
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purangi Gardens Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purangi Gardens Accommodation

Property: Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Address: 321 Less Rd., Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing