We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Althea Richard Blake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrisons Cape Runner

Harrisons Cape Runner
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“Althea Richard Blake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great trip great driver Simon great day out absolutely enjoyed the whole day thanks Simon for your knowledge of the area and sharing it with us

Helpful?
Thank 679carlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    46
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is such an amazing day trip and such great value for money. Robin our bus driver with all the local knowledge made it a fun and entertaining trip from our journey along 90 mile beach with all his hilarious stories and historical accounts, to the journey up a river bed which was sometimes nail biting to surfing down the sand dunes and then of course the majesty of Cape Reinga where the Pacific and Tasman seas meet. Loved the day and the relaxing simple lunch provided at the beautiful wee beach. Thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The "best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

When the bus arrived at the Kauri Kingdom rendezvous point we looked at it and thought "oh oh, we messed up here", but to our absolute delight we were very wrong. Koro was fantastic from the get go. Welcoming, humorous, and knowledgeable. And the bus, although older than the other one parked in the lot, was perfectly suited to the conditions. The stop offs and commentary were appreciated and made the trip extremely interesting. Loved the Hone jokes too. On the return trip down 90 mile beach we "rescued" a stranded tourist, which highlighted the hazards, and also the skills of the Harrison's tour guides. Thanks Koro, We will be back!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
“Fabulous day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This trip would have to be one of the best value tourist attractions in NZ. The whole day with really good commentary, fantastic sights, a great lunch and a really entertaining driver called Robin and all for NZ50 dollars per person.
Would thoroughly recommend this trip rather than trying to do it on your own.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nsbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trip To The Top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

There are so many words to describe this activity.... windy, hot, cold, beautiful, amazing, unbelievable.... and so many, many more. Our guide was Robin and he was fabulous! His jokes were the best in the world and he made them funnier by giggle at every one. This is a full day tour and worth every penny and minute! Where else on earth (in my personal experience of course) can you ride on a bus driving on the beach? The most inspiring part of the day was at Cape Reinga, at the light house where the Tasman Sea meets the Pacific Ocean. There is no way to explain what we saw and experienced, because I think it will mean different things to each person. This is a MUST DO!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrisons Cape Runner also viewed

 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Harrisons Cape Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing