We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically Great”
Review of Orana Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orana Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basically Great”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Have stayed here twice now, first time with my 10 year old and this time by myself. Both times that staff have been very welcoming and friendly. The motel itself has all the basics and they are done well! This is a very comfortable location to base yourself in Kaitaia.
Had a great nights sleep despite the awesome thinderstorm going on outside!

Room Tip: They have some great room setups for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
32
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I was at Orana for 2 nights and found it to be excellent. Chris Ai8ken made my stay very personal with excellent service in the accomodation and restaurant. No hesitation to recommend this fine clean and well located motel.

Room Tip: up stairs with a fine deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Very much older and tired but not much else available. The owner is tireless in helping make it work. Would be better to stay in Paihaia and drive up for the day and take the tour to the cape.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquez, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Hotel host Chris and all the staff, including Clem made us feel most welcome & comfortable for the short 2-night stay. Room was neat & tidy with everything we needed. The chef made an excellent lamb shank dinner one night. Chris (the host) booked Harrison's Cape Runner tour for us for a full day trip to Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach (bus driver/Tour leader Allan was exceptionally good-he was from the area and knew helpful things about the area). The inn made us feel at home and went above what we expected to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandDMarquezTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
18.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.7 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orana Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orana Motor Inn

Property: Orana Motor Inn
Address: 238 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orana Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. Return guests testify to good food and a comfortable stay. Central for exploring the Far North. SKY TV. Day tours of Cape Reinga & 90 Mile Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Orana Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing