We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, average motel”
Review of Kauri Lodge Motel

Kauri Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kauri Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good, average motel”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Average room with good beds. The bathroom was nice, but not more than average! No restaurant, but good takeaway-Shops nearby. The staff told us were to go and buy food!
The room did have chairs and table outside, which we used.
We think the motel is absolutely worth the price we paid! We would use the same place again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank changlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms are straight forward but have plenty of room. It was just the 2 of us travelling and we ended up booking a family room as it was one of the last left so had plenty of room! The hosts are just lovely people and nothing was too much effort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This motel is close to town and has easy access to shops, pubs and restaurants. There is nothing on site so it is byo everything. The owners are welcoming and helpful but the place is on a main road and can be a little noisy at times if traffic is heavy.

Room Tip: As far away from the main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed one night here during the week. Found the owners were really nice and wanted to make sure my stay was good, the unit was basic but really clean. The only thing I would mention was that it was really cold that night, and there is no heater or electric blanket, so had to sit in bed to keep warm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellsbells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great value - Very clean and had free wifi. Would stay here again. A lovely lady checked us in and was helpful. Property is old but the owners obviously take good care of it. The bathroom was new and bright white. Stayed at the Northerner Hotel first night and moved here because it was much quieter and cleaner. Plenty of parking

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat198112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Location was good
Room was comfy
Could use blackout curtains, water takes forever to come through hot.
They need to replace the sheets with a better quality, piling was really bad if you sleep in Pj's it's ok but otherwise it drives you nuts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubbies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had a very spacious suite of rooms including a separate kitchen/breakfast area. Everything was clean and tidy given that this is not a new building. The motel is within 5 minutes walk to the town. The owners were very helpful and friendly and gave us good tips on what to do, where to eat etc. The Wifi connection was good and the BBQ worked well. There was a small pool but we didn't use it. We had a very good two days there and the charges were reasonable.

Room Tip: You could try Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
19.0 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.9 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
46 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Lodge Motel

Property: Kauri Lodge Motel
Address: 15 South Road, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauri Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kauri Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing