We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and not value for money”
Review of Wayfarer Motel

Wayfarer Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayfarer Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Used this hotel as a base for the cape. Apart from being v dated (or they nailed the 80's look), it's not the best value 4 money. Advertised as free internet, but only during office hours using their single shared desktop. Wi-Fi had to be purchased. Suggest you shop around before staying here

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewkartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

The owners are friendly but I agree that the rooms are very dated - more 1960's. The polite notices of 'don't' dos is off putting.
Although cleanish, they need completely updating. The price does not reflect what you get elsewhere in NZ for the money.
The restaurant over the road, Beachcomber is very good and worth a visit.
Not sure how this compares to other motels in the area but would not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the Wayfarer as a base to head up to Cape Reinga. The owners were very friendly and helpful and booked our trip with Harrisons when we booked our room. Our room was clean and spacious with two separate bedrooms. The room was a little dated but was fine for our purposes and had a well equipped kitchen which would be fantastic if you wanted to cook for a family. There was a nice pool area and free internet access was available which was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Clean and comfortable. Good restaurant opposite (The Beachcomber) and shop along the road. A good place to stay for visiting Cape Reinga as it's the last town before the drive up to the Cape. Friendly service. Plenty of parking right outside the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Very pleased with our room...spacious, clean, well set out, everything that was required.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryantandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Nice clean room, plenty of towels including spare ones. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in the motel en route North to Cape Reinga and had 2 nights at the property.
Whilst the owners were exceptionally friendly & helpful and it was good to park right outside our unit, there was little else to be positive about this property.

Unfortunately, it is exceptionally dated. It felt like we were in a 1970s unit and the carpet was filthy. Our 9mth old son was extremely dirty after just a few minutes crawling across it.
Whilst I am prepared to accept that the Far North is a harder area to be modern in and that more dated motels exist in NZ, it was disappointing for us as we felt the prices compared with good, modern and clean motels we have stayed in around the country. In fact, a few nights later we stayed in a 4* hotel in Auckland CBD for $10 a night less than we paid for this property.

We didn't complain to the owners at the time, as both the dirtiness (dust/dirt) of the carpet and the datedness of the unit were not things that could have been fixed during our stay. We won't be staying there again, but if the owners want their property to match their own friendliness, they will need to put in some serious work to update and renovate the units.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireKiwi316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
254.3 mi away
Carrington Resort
Carrington Resort
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarer Motel

Address: 231 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayfarer Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel is centrally located in Kaitaia, a 5 minute walk to shops. Wonderful licensed restaurant across the road. Free parking, free Wifi and Sky Guest Select (50+ channels) in all rooms. Swimming pool, spa pool, trampoline for the children and BBQ all available for guests. Great place to stop and explore the Far North. We can book a day trip to Cape Reinga for you - a wonderful experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wayfarer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing