We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand Safaris Cape Reinga 90 Mile Beach Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sand Safaris Cape Reinga Tours has been thrilling customers for almost 30 years! Oue exclusive Maori Cultural Performance sets the scene for a magical day filled with stories, songs and magnificent scenery. Drive along 90 Mile Beach, sand board the giant sand dunes of Te Paki and experience the sacredness of Cape Reinga. Fully packed lunch included.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Be prepared for changeable weather. If you go sand surfing you will get your feet wet and have quite a climb up the dunes - worth the effort though. Highlight for me was the ride up the quicksand stream - not something you expect to do in a bus. Doug, our driver, looked after us very well.

Visited July 2014
Thank RoseHillArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best day of our holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked this trip using a Grabone voucher - and I would book it again full price! Our driver Dan was extremely informative, polite, respectful and a guy with so much Mana it was a privilege to be on his tour. The vegetarian sandwiches were delicious, great biscuits and fantastic company. I would have liked to know more about the history of Cape Reinga and the importance of it to Maori's. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
1 Thank GibsongirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Personalised Service Made a Great Day Out”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our guide, Sienny ( aka Clark Robson), picked us up from the Ahipara Bay Motel exactly as organised. Because it was low tide we drove up Ninety Mile Beach first, stopping at Te Paki Sand Dunes, where even us oldies enjoyed sand toboganning. The supplied lunch of homemade sandwiches, biscuits, cordial and tea was enjoyed at the beautiful Tapotupotu Bay. Of course we also visited the Cape Reinga Lighthouse. On the way back we stopped for an optional icecream. Seriously it was the biggest icecream we had ever seen and only $4 and no one was forced to buy one. A last stop at Kauri Kingdom finished our day. We were thoroughly entertained by our guide for the day, including local explanations and continual jokes and the occasional serenading of traditional Maori songs. We thought this was the BEST value activity during our whole trip to New Zealand.

Visited April 2014
Thank Sandy2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic is all I can say!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was compelled to write this after the last reviewer as I have travelled with Sand Safaris with our company for many years, we have used all the other companies and Sara is the most professional operator of all. She juggles and jiggles things so that our customers are always catered for even when its almost impossible to fit us! Always friendly, always going the extra mile. As for the trip, the trip is excellent, and as the owner is the driver, they do go the extra mile and take that extra care that the other drivers don't have. I have been using Sand Safaris for over 5 years now, but it is Sara that has ensured we have stayed with the company due to her customer service skills.

Visited March 2014
Thank travellingboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unreliable Business and Dangerous Trip”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I am appalled by the poor service of the manager Sara of SandSafaris. First I tried to arrange pick up from Doubtless Bay as that was the hotel we were staying in, through the online enquiry system. She totally disregarded this twice and booked us for pickup from Ancient Kauri Kingdom (which was over 20km away) instead without asking or informing us of the pick up location first before charging the credit card.

Even though she briefly said of a 24 hour cancellation policy, we advised her to cancel the trip and give us a reasonable refund due to a severe weather warning issued a day before the tour. She told us to wait and call again if the weather clears so she could confirm with her boss about the cancellation. That was the last time I was able to reach her as she avoided every call I made to her so that we could not cancel the trip.

The trip ended up being very dangerous as there was severe winds and rainfall. We encountered numerous delays on the road as we were stopped by four big trees that had fallen over in the road due to the wind and a bus that had been blown off-road. Even the driver was surprised that the tour was not cancelled.

Overall, Sara was unprofessional, unreliable and manipulative. Putting our lives in danger by not canceling a tour during a severe weather warning to protect the deposit money.

Visited July 2014
1 Thank travelalot2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara K, Owner at Sand Safaris Cape Reinga 90 Mile Beach Tours, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Firstly, this is our standard email sent to all email customers,
Good Morning,

We are happy to book for that day. We
have a 24hour cancellation policy.
Our Tour is a full day tour which starts at approx 9am.
We head up Ninety Mile Beach, it includes sandboarding at the
Sanddunes of Te Paki. You will spend approx 45 minutes at the
Lighthouse at Cape Reinga,departing place of the Spirits. A fully
packed lunch is included.
We will travel down the length of the Aupouri Penninsula with a
at the Kauri Kingdom. The price per adult is $50.00 per
per child from Kaitaia or $55.00 per adult from Ahipara only. To book
simply fill in the online booking form with secure credit card
We need the credit card details for a booking.The coach is
airconditioned and
the taboggans are supplied.

Kind Regards,
Sara Kennedy

it clearly states only Kaitaia and Ahipara pick ups, but when I spoke to customer on ph the drive
was explained and it was not a problem. Yes the customer phoned to cancel the night before which we would have done but we were not cancelling the trip and as the customer could not travel the next day I advised them to call back in the morning as the weather may have changed. The customer turned up for the tour, the tour that the customer booked during a storm knowing full well the weather forecast. None of the 4 other companies cancelled which highlights the fact that the weather was acceptable to travel in. This makes us all unprofessional and money hungry....

Sand Safaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sand Safaris Cape Reinga 90 Mile Beach Tours also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region

Been to Sand Safaris Cape Reinga 90 Mile Beach Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing