We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum! Great food, friendly service, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of gumdiggers cafe - CLOSED

gumdiggers cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: North Drift Cafe (formerly named Gum Diggers Cafe) in Ahipara is well known for its great coffee, excellent food and its friendly staff. We source our food locally and use seasonal fresh fruits and vegetables with our home grown herbs and spices, open all year round with both take-away or dine in options. Ahipara is the gateway to 90 Mile Beach and Cape Reinga, untouched beaches, uncrowded waves, adventure everywhere you turn so come and visit us in our little paradise.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Yum! Great food, friendly service, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

A real delight! Mussels that were fresh, tasty and very very moreish! Followed by flounder, pork, burger, fish - all served at the same time and perfectly cooked. Desserts were cheesecake, rhubarb and custard cake x2 - again just beautiful! Very reasonably priced and service with big smiles and attention. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous genuine food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was such a surprise to find food of this quality in Ahipara. Real home baked food, excellent service, highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janma_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really nice food,coffee&juices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were here at 8am - they were open and ready to go with good coffee and fresh juices, breakfast was nice, the fresh juices were reasonable at $5 a cup and the food was reasonably priced food. We stopped in on the way back as well and had their savoury sausage rolls and they were divine too - really a great thing Ahipara has going for it. Good service, ample on street parking, nice range of menu options. Outdoor seating avail both covered and uncovered, opposite the local school so lots of foot traffic during the early morning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique-of-Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cruisy Friday night dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Relaxed atmosphere and surroundings. This place amazes, with its small outside dining area but manages to turn out fantastic meals. I had Thai chicken curry , the guys a steak of course and my friend a Thai beef curry . All were very filling, pleasantly presented and very reasonable at $18 . The chilli mussels we shared for an entree was enough for two and very sumptuious. We all look forward to patronising again, beats cooking on a friday night thats for sure. Thanx Sara.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lulu1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Terrific Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Near the 90 Mile Beach and a great place to relax for a while. There is a wide variety of yummy things to eat -- snacks and meals too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed gumdiggers cafe also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing