We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Carrington Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a special place almost at the end of the Karikari peninsular consisting of a hotel complex, 10 villas, a 18 hole golf course and a winery. Very impressing is the panorama view of a very beautiful scenery. Quiet and pleasant.
The hotel complex consists of three buildings: Reception and shop, a building with lodge rooms and another with restaurant, bar, lounge etc. , the last two buildings framed with a roofed veranda. There also are 10 very well equipped villas (semidetached) also with stunning outlooks.

We had booked a superior room, approx 35 square meters with sitting area, desk and view to golf course, dunes and ocean. Everything very nice, with sliding door and mosquito protection. Internet is available at very reasonable rates.

Breakfast and dinner are served in the restaurant, lunch is available at the winery (short walk across the street). At the winery the only possibility to sit protected from the constant wind was in a big gazebo with limited view through the plastic windows. Hopefully only an in-between solution.
Quality of the food was good, somewhat restricted offer at the Continental breakfast, special dishes could be ordered. The service quick (almost a bit too quick) and attentive.

The wunderful pool area is protected from the wind by well arranged plants and provides a perfect place to swim and to sunbath.

We felt very comfortable and will probably go back there for a few more days and will then stay in one of the villas.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear voyager-liese ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Peppers Carrington. I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting the Far North.

Kind regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
74
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
195 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was our third visit this time for wedding anniversary and a birthday.

Facilities were good with a swim in the sea a highlight.

Restaurant was ok, but the menu was quite limited and with few people staying there it felt strange.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear PJC18,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. It is great that you have stayed with us at Peppers Carrington Resort for a third time. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have a chance to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was probably our fifth visit to Carrington Resort.
We married here back in 2010 when it was part of Heritage Hotels, so knew what to expect.
It is still our favourite place to be, we can't get enough of that pool and library.
Under the new Peppers umbrella only a little has changed.
The products supplied in the room are all peppers and no longer have a NZ feel about them.
But fair enough, most people wouldn't even notice or care about that.
Everything else is just as good. The friendly service, from everyone from the cleaners through to the groundsmen, the rooms, the pool, the library, the gym, the restaurant, the winery all still as superb as we remember it.
It was a very nice touch to leave us a personal welcome back note with a complimentary bottle of wine decorated with rose petals. Very well received and unexpected treat, so thank you.
We had a lovely Wedding Anniversary.

If you want to treat yourself to a secluded romantic getaway, don't go overseas, take the drive north and stay here...you'll be glad you did. You don't have to be a golfer to enjoy this place.:)

If you do, make sure you visit Matai Bay down the road, best bay of the far north in my opinion.
Also go for a walk along the private access to Karikari beach. This is where we had our wedding photo's done. Sands are so white and sea so blue people thought we got married on a tropical island.

Don't wait, just go. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Flyin_Kiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Peppers Carrington. I was proud to share your feedback with our team, and they were all thrilled to read your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all aspects of the Peppers Carrington experience.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington in the future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We recently had our wedding at Carrington Resort. It was absolutely perfect.

We rented several of the villas for family and friends to stay in, and enjoyed a bbq with everyone in front of the villas the night before the wedding. There was plenty of room for the kids to run around and the accommodation was excellent. Several guests played a few rounds of golf, which was a great way to occupy restless boys! We made great use of the pool also.

The wedding itself was run extremely well by the staff at Carrington. We could not have asked for more attentive service. Munish, the chef, prepared amazing food which many of our guests have raved about to us.

We thoroughly enjoyed our wedding, and believe that a large part of why the day ran so smoothly was due to the staff Carrington.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Lydia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you chose to have your wedding here with us at Peppers Carrington. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and I will take pleasure in sharing your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington on perhaps one of your many wedding anniversaries to come!


Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here with my partner for four nights as part of our Christmas/New Year holiday (we reside in Auckland) and was thoroughly impressed.

We stayed in one of the villas overlooking the golf course - we went for this option over the Lodge room as being keen foodies we wanted the full kitchen, giving us the option to cook our own meals if we felt like it. Worked really well, and the kitchen had all the basics - from memory there were a couple of utensils lacking, but most "hardcore" types would be planning ahead and bringing some of their own gear anyway! The villas would also be a good setup for two couples or a family, being spacious and well-equipped (2 double bedrooms, a single bedroom, and two full bathrooms upstairs, plus a downstairs toilet). Rooms were sunny and well appointed (even down to the nice shower gel and shampoo provided), and the master bed was greatly to our liking (avoiding the "too soft" trap that many hotels fall into!).

Highlights:

- personal touch and friendly approach. All staff were great to deal with, from the lady at the front desk (Rochelle?) to the chatty groundsman/greenkeeper.

- dinner at the restaurant on the last night of our stay was superb. One of the best meals i have had in some time, and definitely superior to anything i have had in Auckland lately. The experience was also assisted by great service, in particular from an Indian gentleman whose name i unfortunately didnt make a note of.

- absolutely amazing setting, with excellent grounds and a spectacular outlook. The semi-remote location enhances feelings of rest and relaxation, and would suit those who want to get away from it all for a while and enjoy the outdoors. We also loved the infinity pool which we were lucky to have to ourselves for two out of the three times we went down in the late afternoon.

Really the only way our stay could have been better is if we were golfers and able to properly appreciate the beautiful course!

Anyway we both look forward to returning, hopefully in the not-too-distant future. To the staff of the hotel i would say thankyou and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCofNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear JCoNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property as feedback is extremely important to us here at Peppers Carrington. It is always a pleasure to read positive reviews and yours is one to be acknowledged as you have experienced what our staff take such pride in with there efforts. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had a large family reunion recently and the location and facilities were excellent. Georgous views and a perfect accomodation set up with their townhouse villas which were ideal for a large group of us or just a family travelling together. Pool was wonderful and after a trek by golf cart the beach was fantastic and deserted. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Others have commented on the good food however our New Year's Eve dinner was awful and not impressed with their wines. However as we did not really eat regular meals it would be unfair to rate the overall quality of the food on that one meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grtflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Grtflyin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you chose to have your "family reunion" here with us at Peppers Carrington. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife and I had an overnight getaway at the resort early november '12.

Highlights:
- The highlight would have to be the Chef. His food was fantastic and his small dishes to break up the meal were sensational.
- We liked the personalised welcome note in our room from the manager and the decor was tastefully done.
- The views were amazing and really made the location special
- The golf course looked amazing and viewing the grounds on the buggy was great.
- Overall, the service was warm and friendly

Downsides:
- Checking in at the main reception would have been nice, instead of at the golf shop. It wasnt the nicest welcome and was unexpected given the calibre of the hotel. However, that slightly negative first impression was made up for by the lady behind the desk who was very friendly and gave us a helpful tour of the facilities.
- It would be nice if some arrangement could be arranged so that opened bottles could be transferred between the winery and the restaurant given that they are on the same property.
- Something that couldnt be helped was the wind of both the hotel and winery given their exposed location. The only option for shelter at the winery was sitting inside a gazebo which wasnt ideal as the plastic windows obscured the view. Indoor seating inside something more permanent with glass windows would've been preferred.
- After hours contact. At about 2130hrs I tried calling the operator, reception, room service and house keeping to see if a pair of spectacles had been found, but no one answered. It would be nice if someone was contactable if guests had queries.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the water for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apap008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear apap008,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property; it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the quality of food you experienced while staying with us to our Head Chef, I know he will be pleased to have contributed toward your experience in such a positive way. It was also nice to read that you found our staff service friendly and welcoming.

I do apologise that you were not explained upon check in that the Proshop is also our Reception area and that the onsite Duty Manager is on call if required after reception closes.

The above concerns have been followed up with our Front Office team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
12.6 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
10.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
18.4 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
40 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
12.4 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Carrington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Carrington Resort

Property: Peppers Carrington Resort
Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Carrington Resort, is a 3000 acre estate comprising a lodge, championship 18-hole golf club, Olympic skeet shooting range, vineyard and winery as well as a grass fed Black Angus farm. In addition, the resort boasts an infinity swimming pool, tennis courts, wetlands, mountain biking trails and one of New Zealand's most spectacular and unspoiled beaches - 4km of white sand and superb swimming, fishing and dolphin spotting. Carrington also offers fine dining and lounge facilities, billiard room and pro shop. We are located on the Karikari Peninsula, in Northland on the North Island of New Zealand. This 4 star resort provides accommodation with 10 luxury lodge rooms, 13 3-bedroom villas and 12 luxury houses. Lodge accommodation include spacious air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, each containing a California King sized bed and satellite TV. Each Lodge room opens onto a wide verandah with views to the ocean, golf course or native bush and vineyard. The lodge rooms are connected by verandah walkways to the restaurant and members' lounge. The Villas offer self-contained and fully appointed accommodation - on the ground floor a living room, dining area, fireplace, and laundry facilities, with a verandah overlooking the golf course and Pacific Ocean. In addition, a fully equipped kitchen, toilette, satellite television, air conditioning and private garage are also housed on the ground floor. The second floor has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and balcony, also with sweeping views of the golf course and Pacific ocean, a second double bedroom and bathroom (twins available), and a single bedroom. Other facilities and services available include gymnasium, laundry facilities (Regrettably no dry cleaning), massage therapist on call and babysitting services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing