We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy”
Review of Loredo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loredo Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

First time in Kaitaia. Work booked this as it was the only place in town left, however it was clean, comfortable, and bigger than expected.

All amenities as expected, and warm welcome upon arrival.

Didn't get time to use the spa or anything, but it looks like a great base for exploring the far north.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoAngelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at the Loredo Motel for one night on our way back from Cape Reigna. It is a motel, so as expected, it was basic and comfortable and had the basic necessities. Our only complaint was that upon arrival all the windows in the room were open (no A/C and no window screens), and the room was full of flies. We understand that if the windows had been closed, the room would have been too warm. However, having screens on the windows would have made all the difference. We learned that it is common not to have screens on the windows, but no one likes to sleep with flies around! Otherwise, it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed here for just one night as a base for Cape Reinga. Very friendly check and comfortable room. We ate across the road at a larger establishment which was almost deserted whilst the Loredo was full. A popular choice even if a little out of town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed the night of 29 Jan & were late arriving (took 10 hours to drive up from Auckland due to floods, bad weather). Phoned ahead to say we'd be later than planned & Jay was reassuring. On arrival just before 8pm, she welcomed us warmly - we were just so pleased to get there.

The main room was possibly recently refurbished, clean, fresh, a few scuff marks 'if you look really closely'. Kitchen was very well equipped. This was the 1st of the 18 motels we'd be staying in during our 1st visit to New Zealand, so had not been sure what to expect, & we were rather delighted with our choice.

There was underfloor heating, but we were too warm & had the fan on all night. The linens were laundered well. We slept very well, but that could have been due to the traumatic days driving, topped with a bit of remaining jet lag.

Bathroom - plenty of towels, toilet was separate to, but inside, the shower/basin area.

No mosquitos around. Not sure if there ever are, but at that time, there weren't any.

Local Pack & Save supermarket open 8am - 8pm, & wouldn't let us in to get more milk at 1 minute past 8. Not a lot of places to eat (that we could find) in the town: Saturday night & it was dead. Even the take-aways had closed. Had a poor, expensive meal at the BEach Comber Restaurant - the only place we found open (better than getting pastry snacks @ Shell garage.

Due to our plans, we left Loredo at 8.15am the next morning, without getting a good look round. We liked the place. It was quiet during the night (but again, we were sound asleep!). Would return if we went back to that area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed here in 2 rooms for 2 nights whilst sheltering from Cyclone Wilma and loved it. There's lots for the kids to do - the pool complex will keep them (and you) entertained for hours, as will the spa. Once you've dried off there's a trampoline and swing set in a park like setting right across from your room. Our hosts were really friendly and helpful.
The Mangonui fish n chips were expensive and not the high quality we remembered, but overall this was a great trip. We'll be back!
TIP: return to Auckland taking the scenic route down to Rawene, across on the ferry then on to Tane Mahuta and back down to Auckland. Advise the kids to take a nap when you land at Rawene - the windy gorge will make anyone throw up!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandKitten12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Had no reservation in Kaitaia. Drove by this place and stopped in. Room was clean, rate was good, and rooms were available. Overall good experience. Nothing to write home about. Might just be the area. Good location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlaw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

From the outset, this motel had scruffy look about it. It was obviously styled after the type of motel you would find on the historical american route 66 (and yes I have travelled it). Iinside the rooms, it did not get much better. The crockery, kettle and coffee filter apparatus were all dirty and badly stained, requiring a washing before they could even be used. On the plus side, it had two complimentary (stale) biscuits and two packets of (awful tasting) filter coffee. It is rated as a 3½ star motel, but really, I think it deserves only 2½. Not at all good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loredo, Owner at Loredo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

We are very disturbed by this review as we do not generally receive unfavorable reviews. I wish that the guest have approached us personable to discuss any concerns he had. All our other reviews on trip adviser and Qualmark have always been more than favorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
18.4 mi away
Carrington Estate
Carrington Estate
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
155 reviews
17.3 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
52 reviews
17.6 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loredo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loredo Motel

Address: 25 North Road, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: £54 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Loredo Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Loredo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaitaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing