We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and tidy.”
Review of Loredo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loredo Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Northland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean and tidy.”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed one night on family business, and found this a very friendly and comfortable place. The kitchenette allows you to self cater, however the hosts also have very reasonable breakfasts on offer. The room itself was up to date in decor, very clean and the bathroom was very roomy with a separate toilet. The free wi fi was a plus as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    49
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
31
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

this was our first experience of staying in a motel and it was fine. We stayed one night and had our breakfast delivered next morning - we'd pre ordered it as we weren't too sure what to expect from staying in a motel. We'd booked a studio unit and it was spotless - a very good start to our holidays.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank book99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great hotel in the far north....I have stayed here several times for business and its always very clean and tidy. The unlimited free internet is great for me working at night and the spa is very good to relieve the back from all the driving...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

First time in Kaitaia. Work booked this as it was the only place in town left, however it was clean, comfortable, and bigger than expected.

All amenities as expected, and warm welcome upon arrival.

Didn't get time to use the spa or anything, but it looks like a great base for exploring the far north.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoAngelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at the Loredo Motel for one night on our way back from Cape Reigna. It is a motel, so as expected, it was basic and comfortable and had the basic necessities. Our only complaint was that upon arrival all the windows in the room were open (no A/C and no window screens), and the room was full of flies. We understand that if the windows had been closed, the room would have been too warm. However, having screens on the windows would have made all the difference. We learned that it is common not to have screens on the windows, but no one likes to sleep with flies around! Otherwise, it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed here for just one night as a base for Cape Reinga. Very friendly check and comfortable room. We ate across the road at a larger establishment which was almost deserted whilst the Loredo was full. A popular choice even if a little out of town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed the night of 29 Jan & were late arriving (took 10 hours to drive up from Auckland due to floods, bad weather). Phoned ahead to say we'd be later than planned & Jay was reassuring. On arrival just before 8pm, she welcomed us warmly - we were just so pleased to get there.

The main room was possibly recently refurbished, clean, fresh, a few scuff marks 'if you look really closely'. Kitchen was very well equipped. This was the 1st of the 18 motels we'd be staying in during our 1st visit to New Zealand, so had not been sure what to expect, & we were rather delighted with our choice.

There was underfloor heating, but we were too warm & had the fan on all night. The linens were laundered well. We slept very well, but that could have been due to the traumatic days driving, topped with a bit of remaining jet lag.

Bathroom - plenty of towels, toilet was separate to, but inside, the shower/basin area.

No mosquitos around. Not sure if there ever are, but at that time, there weren't any.

Local Pack & Save supermarket open 8am - 8pm, & wouldn't let us in to get more milk at 1 minute past 8. Not a lot of places to eat (that we could find) in the town: Saturday night & it was dead. Even the take-aways had closed. Had a poor, expensive meal at the BEach Comber Restaurant - the only place we found open (better than getting pastry snacks @ Shell garage.

Due to our plans, we left Loredo at 8.15am the next morning, without getting a good look round. We liked the place. It was quiet during the night (but again, we were sound asleep!). Would return if we went back to that area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
18.4 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loredo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loredo Motel

Property: Loredo Motel
Address: 25 North Road, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Loredo Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loredo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaitaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing