We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but basic”
Review of Loredo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loredo Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

we ran the fan heater for ages to try snd dry the unit out. Kaitaia does have a moist climate and the room felt a bit damp. decor is dated but the unit was clean. Reception was friendly. The star rating of 3+ should be reviewed downwards please. Its an average facility. We paid 120 for a unit with just 2 adults not sure why our tarrif was higher than those on this site. it off peak and not school holidays either.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

The motel itself is quite basic with a double bed, kitchen facilities and bathroom. It is a short drive to the city centre, about 1km away.

I stayed for three days and on the first night it was very windy which made it difficult to sleep. Somehow the door between the bathroom and bedroom rattled in the wind even though it was an internal door and all windows and external doors were closed. This also was a bit annoying.

The free Wi-Fi was a bonus and was very good.

Overall I had a good experience. I have heard that the Loredo is one of the better motels in Kaitaia and this is why I had decided to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was basic but nice. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The place was very tidy and clean and the room was a decent size. Motel is located on the edge of town but still within walking distance with a supermarket just up the road. A nice stay for a cheapie motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jempo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Only just seen a couple of recent reviews that were critical. This was not our experience and we spent 3 nights . I'd rate this the best motel we stayed in in NZ. Very comfortable accomodation, quiet location on the north of the town and not far from a large supermarket and fruit/veg store (further up the road away from the centre). (No smells - we weren't interested in swimming pools). The owners were very friendly and helpful. It made a perfect base for exploring the northern tip, and Kaitaia is a more interesting place than the adjacent Ahipara and Shipwreck Bay zones which are largely holiday homes - though you are at the bottom of 90 mile beach.
Perhaps the only problem may be that the owners are looking to retire and sell. Hopefully whoever takes over will keep it as welcoming as we found it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

As if the smell alone wasn't offensive enough, try the pool. Sand littered the bottom of the pool and one sketchy lounge chair graced the pool deck, along with a varuois variety of plastic chairs of course. I booked online and prepaid. Sometimes you win at this game (sight unseen) and sometimes you don't.

Room Tip: It probably won't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank annie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I can only rate The Loredo as average. While it was clean and tidy, there weren't any features that stood out or would want me to stay there again. It was reasonably quiet and as a female travelling alone for work, I did feel reasonably safe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinemoaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We loved the Loredo - owners extremely friendly and helpful. Spa pool lovely after long days walking. Beds very comforatble and good bedding. Large en-suite. Plenty of room for 4 adults. Kitchen well equipped. Short walk to Kaitaia.

Room Tip: Two bedroom unit great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
254.5 mi away
Carrington Resort
Carrington Resort
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loredo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loredo Motel

Address: 25 North Road, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: £55 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Loredo Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Loredo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaitaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing