We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy”
Review of Loredo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loredo Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2010

From the outset, this motel had scruffy look about it. It was obviously styled after the type of motel you would find on the historical american route 66 (and yes I have travelled it). Iinside the rooms, it did not get much better. The crockery, kettle and coffee filter apparatus were all dirty and badly stained, requiring a washing before they could even be used. On the plus side, it had two complimentary (stale) biscuits and two packets of (awful tasting) filter coffee. It is rated as a 3½ star motel, but really, I think it deserves only 2½. Not at all good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loredo, Owner at Loredo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

We are very disturbed by this review as we do not generally receive unfavorable reviews. I wish that the guest have approached us personable to discuss any concerns he had. All our other reviews on trip adviser and Qualmark have always been more than favorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

This was a good stop. Wifi worked fast and free I think. Rooms clean. Late check out was fine. All good and I look forward to staying again.

Scott

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachtwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed at Lorado for one night with my mother.
The staff was very friendly and nice. The rooms were very clean and comforable.
The unit we stayed had one bed room with one queen and one single and there was one more single bed in living room. Nice kitchen!
90 mile tour bus can pick you up at this location. The staff let us park our car for 8 hours, under the tree, so the car will be cool when we get back in the afternoon. Very thoughful!
ALSO free WI-FI

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loredo, owner at Loredo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Thank you it was a pleasure to have you here. We enjoy the experiences and interactions we have with our guests as well. Jay and Dave. Pete our dog loves to have so many people here to throw the ball all day as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Excellent customer service, very clean, spacious units, close to city and only 10 min drive to the beach. Hosts and staff are friendly, great swimming pool and spa. Kids friendly. Thank you to our hosts. Laine

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RigaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loredo, owner at Loredo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Thank you for your comments. We do like to know that our efforts are appreciated and pass on your comments to our staff as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We had a lovely time spent in this motel. thanks for the reviews here....you helped me a lot...thats why we chose to stay here. It was a good decision. The place was clean, very comfortable, all the amenities are very good. My son was happy with the trampoline, the swimming pool, and the hubby was happy with the wifi and the lcd tv...and i am happy with the kitchen. The kitchen extractor was very good, so the room doesnt smell even when you are doing your little cooking.
We will come back when we return to northland again...tks

P.S.
their dog is also cute and nice with our son

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblue0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loredo, Owner at Loredo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2010

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having you here and pleased to know you enjoyed your time here. Jay and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I stayed here two nights. The staff was friendly and even let me check email for free. I did the 90 Mile Beach Tour on the day after I got there and then stayed a second night so that I did not have to drive back to my home exchange home in Whangerai in the dark.

It is adjacent to the main road, but Kaitaia can have some noisy drinkers, but basically there is not much traffic after dark except for the locals--and there are not a lot of locals.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed at the Loredo Motel en route from the Cape Reinga to Auckland and it was a great place for a stopover, especially as the Beachcomber Restaurant down the road did superb food and a wonderful salad bar! The motel was great. Although not the most modern of fittings in the bathroom, the motel was very well equipped and totally clean and spotless. The spa pool was a real bonus and the trampoline and swings were a hit with our son. There's also a swimming pool. The free wireless internet was a bonus. The owners have been really kind as our son left something behind and they posted it back to us without us even asking.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewZealandWall_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loredo, Owner at Loredo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2009

Thank you for your comments. we do take these comments into consideration and pass them onto our staff. The upstairs unit that you stayed in is the last unit to be refurbished. So We hope you will return again in the future and all will be completed. Best wishes for the future. Jay and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
0.0 mi away
Carrington Estate
Carrington Estate
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
136 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loredo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loredo Motel

Address: 25 North Road, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: £53 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Loredo Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Loredo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaitaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing