We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artsy surroundings, great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Restaurant

Beachcomber Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Artsy surroundings, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely hand screened walls, an entire dining room lined with tapas on the ceiling, local art pieces...enough to occupy your mind for years to come! Good music while dining. Great food and a delicious and generous salad bar, all fresh. Good service, American owners. Classy and comfortable! Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WIldCarrot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    77
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So Good We Went Back A Second Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We thought it the best place to eat in Kaitaia. Pleasant surroundings, great wait staff and excellent food beautifully cooked and well presented. We particularly appreciated the waitress giving us her views on the local wines, which saved us buying something we would not have liked. The scallops, prawn/avocado salad, pork chop and lamb rack were all great, the latter two cooked just as they should be and not a moment longer. Will go back the next time in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank badddriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Decided to come here after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. Great place and loved the salad bar! What a good idea. Kept us busy while we were waiting for our mains. Little bit pricey but friendly staff and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Hayleypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were sent to this restaurant by Alistair our host at the Water's Edge B & B. It was one of the best meals we had in the South Island. The food was delicious and our servers were attentive and very hospitable. The ambience in the restaurant was lovely. A great experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

It's been a couple of years since we were here last, but it has hardly changed, the service here is excellent, friendly and efficient staff, provide you with all the information you will need to chose from their comprehensive menu. It's not cheap but then the quality of the food justifies the price. good wine and drinks list too. there is also a comfy bar.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber Restaurant also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing