We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our travelling experience at Camelot Arms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Camelot arms motor lodge has a good location which is very close to one of biggest shopping center in Supper City Auckland . My family stayed there for two nights and our first impression was the motel is very clean and its beautiful garden. All staff member are very friendly and helpful especially two managers. We really appreciated to spend time there and wejalso like a Chinese ancient painting in our room very much.
We would like to thank Tripadvisor because they provides us a good communication channel to share our tour experience with others and express our feelings when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a beautiful Chinese and Italian paintings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 399ChristinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank your very much for your positive comments, Christina! We will continue to do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

My colleague and I spent five nights in Papatoetoe a few weeks ago.
From the momement we arrived at Camelot Arms our hosts could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Theywent out of their way to ensure we have the best experience. The rooms were of excellent quality and all aspects of our stay were most enjoyable. The units were clean and modern and the service top quality.
I highly recommend Camelot Arms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We love Camelot arms motel because they provided us excellent service and good value which we paid. We were told by our Asian friends about Camelot. We stayed there for three nights and just felt so good and fabulous. The new owners are very friendly and outstanding and they delivered delicious Chinese breakfast timely. They also gave us some advise about Auckland because we had not been there before. They printed street and shopping maps and to make it easier for us. The room is relatively big and very clean and very European style. The bathroom was spotless. We are happy to recommend others to stay at Camelot because the location is brilliant and the management is excellent.

Camelot Arms Motor Lodge 骑士汽车宾馆非常奇特( Fabulous). 看上去,好像一个德国般的城堡。
店主热情好客,会讲国语。再看到店外飘扬着五星红旗,顿感有回家的感觉。这宾馆很干净,典雅。主人提供给我们可口的中餐。并且他们还不嫌其烦地给我们讲解有关奥克兰的有关景点。Camelot Arms Motor Lodge 值得推荐,因为它离Manukau Shopping Center 和机场都 很近。语言交流没问题。

Room Tip: Room 11 of the motel is nice room and it has spa and comfortable king size bed and a beautiful Chine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The room is clean and comfortable.I stay here for 3 days.The new owner is really friendly.Im happy to stay here.I feel like at home.The motel is european style.It is worth the price as well.I think i will stay here again if i come to auckland next time.Its close to airport and on the Great South Road,quite easy to find it.

Room Tip: The room which has spa is really good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for your lovey comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean and comfortable, but the only heating was a small electric fan heater, the type which has been known to be associated with starting fires, and if you need cooling there was a floor standing fan. Suitable some 30-40 years ago, but today HAVC units are far better, safer and efficient.

The rooms are set back off the main road, so there is little if any road noise, but it does seem to be under the flight path to Auckland International, so there was noise from the occasional plane coming in to land.

It is just down the road from Manukau City centre, so it is handy to shopping and close to the motorway. Given the per night cost and lack of HVAC it does seem a little pricey by around $10-20 per night.

That night when we returned, all the carparks were full, so we had to park just outside the motel, still on motel grounds, but a little exposed to passing traffic and pedestrians, and it feels remote from the rooms and hence a little less secure.

Overall ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davec50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

I don't really think heat pumps are suited for the Auckland motel enivironment. They cost a lot of money to buy and install. They need to be running a long period of time to break even with their efficiencies over costs. Also they require regular maintenance. I don’t think this makes them so useful for a motel environment in Auckland which is more stop start stop in its nature. Such extra costs would need to be passed on to the guest.

The bottom line on the matter however is what other motels of a similar level in the area are offering and most of them are offering the same as we are.

Also I wonder what expertise you have to make such emotional comments with authority about fan heaters. Who says they cause fires? If they are so unsafe why are they still freely available in New Zealand? Why weren’t they banned many years ago?

Since you stayed here in November you wouldn’t have needed to use either the fan or the fan heater so why comment about them? They weren’t part of your experience here.

You needn’t worry about the safety of our outer car park. I park in it all the time and have never had any problems. Neither have any guests. Some truckies even park their trucks in the car park across the road and they've never had any trouble. I think your “feelings” of insecurity can relax!

We took over the business in December and are endeavoring to update things. Come back in a while and see what you think!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

You could do alot better for $130 NZ. No air conditioning etc with really old appliances.Our fan heater had some of the plastic melted.Shower head was stuffed and you couldn't control the flow at all. One light in the bathroom blown. In 17 days in the North Island the most disappointing of all our accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi Gary

Thank you for your comments. My business partner and I took over in December last year so we can’t answer directly to your comments. I’ve already answered in detail about air conditioning in one of my other replies. See that if you like.

I think you’ll find that none of the motels in this area or most of Auckland have air con. Considering the fairly mild climate here it’s just not worth the relatively high cost of purchase, installation and maintenance. They need to be running for long periods of time to break even. They can’t do this in Auckland in a motel environment. Fan heaters heat up a room reasonably fast and considering their relatively short usage over time they are much more economical and cost effective for motels. The extra cost of air con would have to be passed onto guests.

I have checked all the fan heaters in the motel and none has any plastic melted. It must have been replaced.

Did you tell the then management about the shower head and the blown light bulb? I think you should have. I would have asked for another room. It would have alerted them to the problem. We do go round and check all the lights daily. No matter how often you do that, there will always be some that slip through the cracks or deliberately blow just after being checked!!

We are not the highest price motel for our grade in the area providing our level of accommodation. Perhaps it would be useful to stay at a few others for comparison purposes. Before my business partner and I bought this motel, we looked at quite a few in the Auckland area. This is the best one we could find.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We choose this hotel for its
Proximity to Auckland airport. We arrived late at night and no transfer was available. The taxi driver gave us a ride $70 for a $30 usual far (confirmed by the other taxi driver the next morning). The lady at reception was grumpy when we arrived. We did wake her up and we were not very welcome. Watch out for extra fees they want to charge you. Rooms were ok but definately not 4 stars (in need of refurbish the bathroom). As there is only one way transfer included, we will have been better of paying more and staying closer.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

We are the new management. We took over in mid December. I can see problems on both sides of what you say. Firstly your side, did have a reservation to stay here? Did you give your phone number and credit card details? If so did you tell the management what time you’d be arriving? Was your plane delayed? Did you let management know? If you did the management would have put in place some contingency plans for your late arrival.

Moteliers are real people. A lot of us work 100 hours a week or there about. So sleep is very important to us. If you came here late without a reservation and started banging on the door outside office hours and woke me up I’d probably be as welcoming as the last owner. In fact I wouldn’t get up and open the door. My sleep is that important to me. If you are going to be arriving outside office hours, please have the basic courtesy to let management know in advance

All this could have been avoided by you taking the action I suggested in the first paragraph. As such I think you only have yourselves to blame for your own outcome.

We don’t have extra charges except if you trash the room or lose the key. I think that is only reasonable.

As for the taxi fares, that’s not really our problem but I wouldn’t go anywhere except on a meter. Beware of Taxis hanging around railway stations or airports or the like - anywhere in the world.

Some of our bathrooms may be old but they are spotlessly clean. Like all motels we are constantly updating . Come back in a while and see what you think then. However please make a reservation first and let the motel know what time you are arriving (approx). Give them your mobile number + credit card details. Please also let them know if you’re going to be late.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.6 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
215 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
124 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
3.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge

Address: 525 Great South Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2104, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: £89 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge is one of Manukau city's best kept secrets. Camelot Arms is part of the ASURE group and has ASURE's four star rating. It is also moderately priced. It was built at a time when motel rooms were roomier and more comfortable than they are today. Many of the rooms have room for king or super king beds. Come and enjoy our old world comfort yet very modern style! We offer a range of accommodation from studios through to 1 and 2 bedroom units including Executive deluxe(Spa bath) to kitchen studio units. We offer competitive corporate rates We are ideally situated close to the airport for tourists arriving and departing. Five minutes drive to:- Manukau Westfield Shopping Mall- Middlemoore Hospital- Rainbows End- Vodafone Events Centre- The Grange Golf Course- MIT (Manukau Institute of Technology)- NZ Victor Badminton Centre. Ten minutes drive to- Auckland's Domestic and International Airports- Botany Town Centre- Sylvia Park Shopping Centre. Camelot Arms Motor Lodge is convenient for both business travelers and holiday visitors. All our Serviced Daily. All units and apartments have either a kitchen with cooking facilities or a kitchenette including tea and coffee making facilities, microwave. All units have bathrooms, hair dryers, some with corner spa bath.Free WiFi Flat screen TV ,Sky 50+ channels TV. Electric blankets, Heaters, Fans, and Cots. Breakfast available (delivered to room)Large private outdoor barbecue area. Guest laundry. Free Off-street parking. Conference room with facilities and full catering for up to 30 delegates. Chargeback facility to local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing