We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
1 review
“Great location & customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Camelot Arms is my local when visiting Auckland. The location & customer service is fantastic and is the reason why I choose to stay there. I have tried other motels all over Auckland but always return to my local.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thanks very much for your comments Mary. We look forward to you staying here again. You're always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    24
    17
    4
    11
See reviews for
38
29
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Booked in at last minute due to mismanagement of my booking by a different motel. Lucky to get a room. Everything very clean, comfortable, and really friendly, helpful new owners. They even offered me a ride when my taxi did not turn up and saved me much grief as I had to be prepared to present a 3-day training. Thank you!

Room Tip: no lifts, book a downstairs room if you don't want to walk stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words of support Cornelia. You are welcome to stay here again and we will offer you the same level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Camelot arms motor lodge has a good location which is very close to one of biggest shopping center in Supper City Auckland . My family stayed there for two nights and our first impression was the motel is very clean and its beautiful garden. All staff member are very friendly and helpful especially two managers. We really appreciated to spend time there and wejalso like a Chinese ancient painting in our room very much.
We would like to thank Tripadvisor because they provides us a good communication channel to share our tour experience with others and express our feelings when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a beautiful Chinese and Italian paintings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 399ChristinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank your very much for your positive comments, Christina! We will continue to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My colleague and I spent five nights in Papatoetoe a few weeks ago.
From the momement we arrived at Camelot Arms our hosts could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Theywent out of their way to ensure we have the best experience. The rooms were of excellent quality and all aspects of our stay were most enjoyable. The units were clean and modern and the service top quality.
I highly recommend Camelot Arms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We love Camelot arms motel because they provided us excellent service and good value which we paid. We were told by our Asian friends about Camelot. We stayed there for three nights and just felt so good and fabulous. The new owners are very friendly and outstanding and they delivered delicious Chinese breakfast timely. They also gave us some advise about Auckland because we had not been there before. They printed street and shopping maps and to make it easier for us. The room is relatively big and very clean and very European style. The bathroom was spotless. We are happy to recommend others to stay at Camelot because the location is brilliant and the management is excellent.

Camelot Arms Motor Lodge 骑士汽车宾馆非常奇特( Fabulous). 看上去,好像一个德国般的城堡。
店主热情好客,会讲国语。再看到店外飘扬着五星红旗,顿感有回家的感觉。这宾馆很干净,典雅。主人提供给我们可口的中餐。并且他们还不嫌其烦地给我们讲解有关奥克兰的有关景点。Camelot Arms Motor Lodge 值得推荐,因为它离Manukau Shopping Center 和机场都 很近。语言交流没问题。

Room Tip: Room 11 of the motel is nice room and it has spa and comfortable king size bed and a beautiful Chine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The room is clean and comfortable.I stay here for 3 days.The new owner is really friendly.Im happy to stay here.I feel like at home.The motel is european style.It is worth the price as well.I think i will stay here again if i come to auckland next time.Its close to airport and on the Great South Road,quite easy to find it.

Room Tip: The room which has spa is really good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwin255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for your lovey comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean and comfortable, but the only heating was a small electric fan heater, the type which has been known to be associated with starting fires, and if you need cooling there was a floor standing fan. Suitable some 30-40 years ago, but today HAVC units are far better, safer and efficient.

The rooms are set back off the main road, so there is little if any road noise, but it does seem to be under the flight path to Auckland International, so there was noise from the occasional plane coming in to land.

It is just down the road from Manukau City centre, so it is handy to shopping and close to the motorway. Given the per night cost and lack of HVAC it does seem a little pricey by around $10-20 per night.

That night when we returned, all the carparks were full, so we had to park just outside the motel, still on motel grounds, but a little exposed to passing traffic and pedestrians, and it feels remote from the rooms and hence a little less secure.

Overall ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davec50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
I don't really think heat pumps are suited for the Auckland motel enivironment. They cost a lot of money to buy and install. They need to be running a long period of time to break even with their efficiencies over costs. Also they require regular maintenance. I don’t think this makes them so useful for a motel environment in Auckland which is more stop start stop in its nature. Such extra costs would need to be passed on to the guest.

The bottom line on the matter however is what other motels of a similar level in the area are offering and most of them are offering the same as we are.

Also I wonder what expertise you have to make such emotional comments with authority about fan heaters. Who says they cause fires? If they are so unsafe why are they still freely available in New Zealand? Why weren’t they banned many years ago?

Since you stayed here in November you wouldn’t have needed to use either the fan or the fan heater so why comment about them? They weren’t part of your experience here.

You needn’t worry about the safety of our outer car park. I park in it all the time and have never had any problems. Neither have any guests. Some truckies even park their trucks in the car park across the road and they've never had any trouble. I think your “feelings” of insecurity can relax!

We took over the business in December and are endeavoring to update things. Come back in a while and see what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.6 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
3.8 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Address: 525 Great South Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau 2104, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge is one of Manukau city's best kept secrets. Camelot Arms is part of the ASURE group and has ASURE's four star rating. It is also moderately priced. It was built at a time when motel rooms were roomier and more comfortable than they are today. Many of the rooms have room for king or super king beds. Come and enjoy our old world comfort yet very modern style! We offer a range of accommodation from studios through to 1 and 2 bedroom units including Executive deluxe(Spa bath) to kitchen studio units. We offer competitive corporate rates We are ideally situated close to the airport for tourists arriving and departing. Five minutes drive to:- Manukau Westfield Shopping Mall- Middlemoore Hospital- Rainbows End- Vodafone Events Centre- The Grange Golf Course- MIT (Manukau Institute of Technology)- NZ Victor Badminton Centre. Ten minutes drive to- Auckland's Domestic and International Airports- Botany Town Centre- Sylvia Park Shopping Centre. Camelot Arms Motor Lodge is convenient for both business travelers and holiday visitors. All our Serviced Daily. All units and apartments have either a kitchen with cooking facilities or a kitchenette including tea and coffee making facilities, microwave. All units have bathrooms, hair dryers, some with corner spa bath.Free WiFi Flat screen TV ,Sky 50+ channels TV. Electric blankets, Heaters, Fans, and Cots. Breakfast available (delivered to room)Large private outdoor barbecue area. Guest laundry. Free Off-street parking. Conference room with facilities and full catering for up to 30 delegates. Chargeback facility to local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing