We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of no heart city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Proximity Apartments Manukau
Reviewed 18 June 2014

These are excellent facilities in the centre of Manukau City. Easy to find. Quick and easy reception. Enclosed balcony was great. Views without the cold winds.

Would have given a higher overall rating except for the $5.00 car parking. Paid but was not told the car had to be removed by 7.00 because the parks were being cleaned. Didn't find that out until seeing a notice in the lift on the way up to the room.

Location is good. Easy trip from airport and easy transfer to motorway next morning. Can't recommend Manukau city as a hive of activity, nightlife and great food. Available but no sense of being in the centre of a metropolis. Can't blame the apartments for that. Perhaps there will be a heart of Manukay in another 50 years

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moggy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thanks heaps for placing the review. Sorry the car park clean is scheduled once in each quarter and unfortunately it fell on the day you were here with us. But just for future, in such cases we are able to issue another car park. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spent two fantastic nights at Proximity.
Very comfortable bed and great presentation.
Ideally located, within walking distance of all amenities. Free parking on the weekend.
Only downside was that it wasn't very clean, there was marks on the walls in the kitchen and bathroom and the towels looked like they needed to be bleached.
Other then that, very lovely and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephWells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for posting the review, we are currently in the process of painting the rooms, and are happy to discuss with our laundry supplier to improve the standards. Thanks again for taking time to put through the review as it helps us to perform better. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have recently been staying at Proximity on business. These apartments are ideal for the business or leisure traveller. Only a 5 minute walk to the Manukau Train Station giving you ready access to the rest of Auckland city. Also opposite is the Manukau Shopping Mall with ready access to supermarkets, restaurants and retail stores.
The units are well maintained and clean. The higher levels have breathtaking views over the greater Auckland area.
The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful at all times.
The apartments are good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks Malcolm, its great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Chosen for an easy commute to the airport, 2 bedroom apartment was actually 1.5 bedroom spent a very uncomfortable night on a cement slab they call a sofa bed.
Staff very inflexible about changing the room and insisted if we changed we would have to pay for two rooms on top of what we paid and were unable to refund unless they sold the room we had originally booked, which would have been unlikely at 5 pm.
Try somewhere else to avoid dissapointment.
Parking is available at a charge and while it's safe it's a hassle.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacsbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thanks for the review. We remember providing all possible help we could when the guest approached reception after check in stating the bedding configuration didn't suit them. Our cancellation policy is 24 hours which is on the website as well, the bedding configuration is also mentioned on the site which we did point out to the guest. Though during all this process we never mentioned we wouldn't refund, we offered to refund even though it was against our cancellation policy. We did state if we manage to sell the apartment we could refund and as that was the last apartment we had for the day, we were sure we would probably manage to resell it, but this was not accepted by the guest. We even called a another hotel to secure a room for the guest, but the guest didn't want to move to the another hotel due to their own reasons. We did check the room to ensure all is in order for the guest so that the guest has a good stay with us. We would have helped further if required, but we didn't get any further requests. We hope you would accept in the given scenario we did all we could to help the guest and we sincerely hope you would return and provide us an opportunity to serve you better . Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

An excellent apartment very handy to Auckland Airport with a scheduled bus service just around the corner that transports you right to the terminal. Convenient to shops and other amenities. Not ideal if you want the tourist sites of Auckland but ideal for travelers passing through Auckland. I have stayed twice, once on my own and once with my partner and both times the room exceeded my expectations. Great service and friendly staff. I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Ronwood Ave side if you like watching aircraft as the flightpath is right over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markrichards1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for your review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Really good! good service and good price. very happy very comfortable. will come stay again for sure. very close to shopping mall, heaps to eat and that just made my life so much easier. close to the airport as well. awesome.

Room Tip: rooms facing the shopping mall has a good view of shopping mall. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AKLWantinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for your review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have previously stayed at these apartments three years ago. Decided to return there. As it is convenient and had been really nice when my family and I stayed last time.
First reception hung up on us when we arrived to check in. Another person let us in. The person on reception was rude and did not answer my question about having to write my credit card number on the sign in form. Then asked for my drivers licence which was copied and returned with no thank you. There was certainly no nice polite welcome.
Went to the lift when we found it as no signs saying where the lifts are. Went to the room, The room was freezing with all the windows open and air conditioning running at 7.30 at night. The fridge was turned off which is just as well we noticed or our food would have gone off as fridge was warm.
The small rubbish bin in the bathroom had not been cleaned and there was a used womans personal hygiene product in it which was disgusting.
There was also quite a bit of water on the balcony floor which I slipped on and so we put the shower mat over this. We also kept socks on in the room as the floor was sticky.
We went to use the elevator and there was a puddle of something on the floor in there and No signage to say floor was wet.
I did not go back to reception with these issues as they were so rude on check in and I got the impression they would not have cared.
The bed was okay but unusual as there was a sheet, then another sheet, then the duvet and another sheet then cover. One seat in the dining area was bent and uncomfortable to sit on.
While I like its central location something needs to be done in regard to cleaning and service as this was not acceptable.
I will be finding somewhere else to stay in future when I go to Auckland. The buttons in the lifts were also not working very well and we were told by someone else staying there they it can take a bit for the buttons to work

Management change or just lack of overall caring to customer service and cleanliness I don't know but you have lost my business unless things improve.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or check out the room before you check in and go somewhere else if things are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proximity_Manager, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for your response. Comments such as this helps us to improve else we wouldn't know if someone at the reception hasn't been polite or was rude. We have discussed this review with our staff. Though mentioning the details on the reg. card is part of the check in procedure, but certainly our staff can be very polite to the guest whilst check in. Existence of water in the balcony might have been due to rain after our staff had cleaned the room. We have a process in place where the housekeeping supervisor checks all the clean rooms, and I am surprised how she didn't manage to pick up the issue mentioned in the review. This has been discussed as well with our staff. We sincerely hope you would visit us again and we will try our best to make your stay the best possible. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#4 of 5 in Manukau
120 reviews
5 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
5.4 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Apartments Manukau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Apartments Manukau

Address: Proximity Apartments 17 Amersham Way, Manukau, Auckland 2104, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Manukau
Price Range: £77 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Apartments Manukau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Proximity Apartments Manukau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Apartments Manukau Hotel Manukau
Proximity Apartments Manukau Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing