We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Manukau B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great views of the beach - but that’s about the only positive. Hardly the luxury advertised. Dated and basic furnishings and very b-a-s-i-c bed with rocks in the pillows. Way overpriced at $NZ190. There was no-one else staying, so would think around $130 max. for upstairs waterfront room. Less for the others. Id really be concerned if there was someone staying in the unit beneath as the floors were awful squeaky.
We would have stayed 2 or 3 nights if the bed was above camping ground standards.

Room Tip: Definitely choose upstairs room. Good if you like very hard bed ( with springs ) and pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrLikesValueForMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    30
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
37
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Was looking forward to staying across from the water. The views were spectacular. Location was great. Stayed in a ground floor family suite for 4 nights. The toilet did not flush properly and we were constantly moving the inside cistern around to shut the damm thing up. The lighting blew in the bathroom and the issue was not fixed until 2 days later. Notified owners of problems, but slow to action. Beds were comfortable but watch for bugs in the beds after a few nights. Could hear the movement and noises from people upstairs at night. Not pleasant if you are a light sleeper. Is a little dated, but can be ignored if basic maintenance of rooms were regularly monitored. Rooms are clean and tidy, but disappointed with the overall lack of value for money and maintenance issues.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs suite or a stand alone suite as these may be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnStyle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We pre-booked Bucklands Beach as we were at the end of our holiday and wanted somewhere quiet for the last days of our holiday and not too far from the airport. Our room(s) were in a chalet style unit, with living/kitchen and bathroom on the ground floor and bedroom on a mezzanine floor.The chalet was nicely furnished,had outside seating area on decking and a covered car-port alongside.Although the beach area is quite nice, we didn't realise that there was so much housing on the peninsula.Also, it didn't help that it rained steadily for the 3 days we were there - there were a couple of dry intervals!
If the weather had been good we may have got a better impression of the area.
There were a couple of decent restaurants close by and it was a short drive to a supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

old and tired,
looks good from the road
smells, small rooms. old furnishings,
great location but!
if you know my requirements from past reviews than you will know this one is not up to scratch.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comm-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manukau hotels

Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We only stayed here for one night but found very handy to things in general. Really enjoyed our stay wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed there on a Friday and Saturday night in the early part of November. Took a family unit as the motel was nearly full at the time of booking. At first impressions from the outside, the motel has a fantastic position right on the Esplanade at Bucklands Beach and looks good. Unfortunately, it is tired and in need of a good paint job and re-furnishing. there was no air conditioning in the family unit that we had and the "mezzanine" area that contained three bunks was about 3 foot below the ceiling and was accessed by an almost vertical ladder. There was little or no ventilation up there and as it was a hot day, I would not like to have slept up there at night. The bathroom was very very small and you had barely enough room to turn around. The furnishings had burn marks in them and were tired. There was dust everywhere. Windows in the bedroom could not be opened because they were at eye height with the corridor outside the room. we had to have a fan running in the room at night because of the heat.It was also not safe to leave the front lounge windows open when we were out as we were only on the first floor and access could be gained through these.
The decking around the pool had nails sticking up.parking in the designated areas was also a very tight fit when the property was full
The Chinese managers were trying their best but a lack of fluency in English did not help matters. When we booked we were promised free Internet access but when we arrived we were told that that free access was only one hour per day
location is great but sadly lacking in other areas-would not stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed in a "Waterfront Upper Level Deluxe Unit" for one night while in Auckland on business. The outlook across the water from the balcony of the first floor unit was very pleasant and the location is handy if you want to catch the Halfmoon Bay ferry into the city instead of driving. The managers were very welcoming and a gift basket with some snacks was provided with the unit.

However, I thought that the complex was tired and the unit was in poor condition relative to my expectations (which were based on photos on the motel's web site, other Trip Advisor reviews and the pricing of the unit relative to other Auckland accommodation I've stayed in). By way of example: the furniture throughout the unit was dated; one of the down lights in the lounge ceiling had what appeared to be a plastic bag stuffed in it (I assume the light fitting was malfunctioning - if so, then my view is that an electrician should have been called in to fix it before the room was let); the carpet was threadbare in a couple of places in the lounge; and brute force was required to open and close some of the aluminium windows in the unit.

Notwithstanding the location, the outlook and the service (all of which were good) I wouldn't stay at this motel complex again until such time as it has been renovated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neutron0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.9 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#4 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Half Moon Bay Marina Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel

Property: Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel
Address: 42 The Parade | Bucklands Beach, Manukau 2012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel is located right on the promenade of the beautiful Bucklands Beach, Auckland, New Zealand. Close to East Tamaki and Highbrook Business Park. Only 15 mins to Botany Town Centre & Sylvia Park. The airport is 30 mins away. Take the local ferry at Half Moon Bay Marina to downtown Auckland or Waiheke Island. Unwind on your own deck or walk to nearby restaurants, relax on the safe beach across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing