We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck”
Review of Rayland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayland Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Would'nt stay here again, was'nt a pleasent stay. Very run down, and not the cleanest place, service was bad, had to run around trying to find the manager after ringing the bell a million times and waited for half an hour.

Room Tip: make sure you always read reviews before booking anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    14
    20
    32
See reviews for
36
15
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had a pleasant nights stay room was clean with modern surroundings very quiet and peaceful

Room Tip: We had a classic car so having a room right in front or above your car suited us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2011

got an online last minute deal for 99 bucks. good location, no swimming pool, easy access to restaurants. i didnt spend much time in the motel but was satisfied with my stay and definitely didnt find any bed bugs. they allowed to park my car for 4 nights FOC as i was going overseas

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Two words - BED BUGS!!! Eighteen bites in one hideous night.
Run a mile!

Room Tip: Try another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manukau hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We arrived to the Rayland motel and noticed the grounds were unkept. We got to reception and were greeted by a very unpersonable lady. We enetered the room and noticed a very musty unclean smell. We had a look around and noticed the carpet had cigarett burn holes in it, also hair in the bathtub, paint coming off the walls, mould in bathroom. We checked out straight away and got a refund. We found a lovley motel to stay at which was called Manukau Motor Lodge, the manager was so nice and the premises were perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whakatane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Was disappointed with the shabby appearance and lack of maintenance, such as: Toilet seat not secure, TV in bedroom not tuned to any stations, cupboard doors falling off hinges, shower rose broken, rotten boards around the shower and windows, windows that had no latches, curtains that would not pull across fully, light bulbs that were blown.
On booking this motel it was listed as 4 star plus, so we expected far better than this especially for the price!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights in a Studio Unit. Had booked it online for NZD115 per night on their website. It was located very centrally close to the Mall, eating joints and Manukau CBD area. I had a hassle free stay. The auckland airport is located in the middle of nowhere and Manukau is the closest suburb. Visited the Irish Pub (walking distance) and was ideal to for the boys to chill out

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiRichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.5 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
5.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
5.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayland Motel

Property: Rayland Motel
Address: 12 Lakewood Court | PO Box 76080, Manukau 2104, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rayland Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rayland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayland Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing