We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

we booked our 1st night in NZ prior to leaving Oz. Pat & Bernie were so welcoming & helpful. no request was too much trouble. we ended up staying 2 nights & then again before returning to Oz. Very comfortable, even though close to the main road - no traffic noise. enjoyed the fresh warm muffins. fantastic place to stay & highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binnari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
It was so wonderful to welcome you to our place. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your review. Here's hoping our paths may cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
76
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Service is Incredible! Right from when we booked we got a friendly email from Pat & Bernie asking if we needed any help with planning what to do in Auckland, they kindly sent us an envelope full of brochures which was an amazing help as we found some places we didnt even know existed.
When we arrived at the motel, we received warm chocolate chip muffins which went down a treat after our long road trip, the units were clean and had everything you could need.
Mack (the motel resident dog) was a particular favourite with our 6 year old son.
Pat & Bernie were ever so helpful with directions and anything we needed, they are just fantastic.
We were even back after dark one night after being out all day and found they had turned on the lights in our unit and shut our curtains for us so we didnt have to come back to a dark unit.
We actually preferred this location rather than being right in the city, we were quite central to most things and the motel was quiet.
Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank readz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you very much indeed for such a wonderful review. We appreciate it very much. So glad you enjoyed the muffins and the wonderful places that Auckland has to offer. It was great to see the three of you out and about every day enjoying the beautiful Autumn weather. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had a problem with the booking which had nothing to do with the motel, but the people there were so friendly to fix it asap for us, they gave us an upgrade and a lovely room.

we stayed there for one night, its best if you are looking for a relaxing place away from the city noise, its 15 min from the airport and easy to locate.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly for reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
The photos you posted are outstanding - thank you very much indeed. What a shame you only stayed one night, we would've so liked to have enjoyed your company longer.
Mack sends his best behaved woof to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Got to the Grange Lodge Motel at about 2:30am and everything was in place as arranged. Lovely accommodation and super friendly helpful hosts. Made us feel SO welcome! We also got hot berry muffins fresh out of the oven when we went over to settle the account in the morning. definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauferfille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were a family of three adults and two children who were in Auckland for two nights. The muffins on arrival were a welcome treat as was the grassy area for the kids to run around on and Mack and Sunshine were also a big hit.

We had the family unit and it was perfect – room for all of us, the kitchen had everything we needed and the cot came with a teddy which was another extra touch that made the stay feel more like you were staying with friends or family than a paying guest.

Thanks Pat and Bernie for being outstanding hosts, the Grange Lodge Motel is now our family’s go-to Motel when in Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nakilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
It was so nice to meet you all. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel. Mack and Sunshine send purrs and woofs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

After a long flight from the USA, we just wanted to sleep and this motel was perfect. Pat was wonderful and even greeted us when we showed up after hours. The welcome muffins were exactly what we needed. I also liked the free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supahfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. It is so much appreciated. We have just upgraded our Wifi and we are sure you will find it even better next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in this modern motel for one night in passing (driving from Northland to King Country) but could easily have stayed more. The room was spacious and well laid out. The owners really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

The location may not suit everyone - it's good for the airport, not so good for the CBD or North Shore - but this wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our property. Your comments are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back here again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing