We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stay out of AKL...comfy, cozy, clean, quiet, convivial”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Pat and Bernie get it right: all the comforts of home, super clean beds and bath, dense mattress, all the kitchen utensils, plunger coffee, milk in the fridge... all very welcome...but wait, there is more! Warm muffins upon arrival (how do they know when you will actually get there?)...a genuine welcome with all the right amount of advice you want, from Pat as well as the friendly greeter dog...a recommendation of where to get great Indian food (you MUST have the Chili chicken! That's all I have to say about that! Except we then had to look for it everywhere else in NZ and nothing compared!)...and some heartwarming family events and local color from Pat, well, you will have to just hear for yourself!

This is a great location. I like that it's outside of downtown Auckland, there is plenty of parking, stores in walking distance, it's not crowded, and it's an easy departure to points south. It's a short drive from the airport, not too taxing after a lengthy flight. I think the rates are very reasonable, especially in light of the space, cleanliness, and personal attention guests will enjoy. Well done, Grange Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

How lovely of you to write such a review - thank you very much indeed! So glad you enjoyed the muffins and the Indian Chilli. I have to agree that we too haven't tasted anything to compare anywhere else either. We are very lucky to have such choices here in Papatoetoe!
Here's hoping our paths may cross again and we can again welcome you to The Grange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here on a business trip. Very friendly and helpful hosts; warm muffins on arrival; the room I stayed in this time was modern and warm. Extra little touches make it stand out as a great place to stay. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Modern rooms, very warm, with added touches like a plant and free delicious muffins when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatWtgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed the muffins. Both Pat and I look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have to Congratulate Pat & Bernie for the right attitude they have towards providing exceptional service to their guests. Highlights are very clean and cozy rooms, friendly & homely welcome, very helpful with anything you ask for, good cooked breakfast and reasonably charged rooms/suites. These nice folks also recommend their guests to a reasonably charged taxi service which is quite helpful too. I would definitely recommend this place to all. I have been there last year and will be staying at Grange once again this year. Keep up the good work and wish you folks good luck!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AjoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

What lovely comments. Thank you very much indeed! Both Pat and I are very much looking forward to seeing you again later on in the month. Safe traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

At the Grange Lodge, the welcome you get can only be discribed as if you were one of Pat & Bernie's family.
The unit was immaculately clean and comfortable. Very highly recommend thr Grange Laodge to anyone who has to stay in Auckland, whether overnight or long term

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We always look forward to your stay at our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Grange Lodge during our layover in Auckland and we so glad we did. After having been on the road for over a week, Bernie welcomed us to the Lodge as if we were long-lost family. It was the first time in our trip that we felt truly welcomed and embraced and it was exactly what we needed. The muffins were as tasty as other reviewers have mentioned and the room was spacious, clean, and cozy. The area is fairly quiet but we did eat at an Indian restaurant down the street that was walking distance and very tasty. Our trip back to the airport was easy as Bernie had arranged transport for us and the price was even better than the taxi we took from the airport the night before! My husband had never been to NZ before and this one visit at the Grange gave him a better sense of the people than he would have experienced at another airport hotel. I can't say enough nice things about our stay and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabProv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

How lovely it was to meet you both!! Such a shame it was so brief though. Thank you so much for choosing to stay here during your oh so brief stopover in New Zealand. I do hope you can make another, longer trip here. New Zealand looks different in the daylight! Both Pat and I wish you joy and happiness for the future and would so welcome you back at our place again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Thanks Pat and Bernie! Your motel is a great find. Immaculately clean, warm and very comfortable. We will definitely return. Wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

How lovely of you to review us - thank you very much. We so enjoyed meeting the three of you and look forward to seeing you again when you need more retail therapy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

How often is it that you look at a accommodation websites and reviews and when you get there it is not what they say it was . Well the Grange is one of the exceptions it certainly delivers on everything it says it does . Pat & Bernie were marvelous hosts , from the hot muffins at check in to the the day we checked out nothing was too much trouble for this couple . Even though out of the city , the convenience of the bus outside the units made it a breeze to get in an out of town . Would highly recommend the Grange to all , and we will certainly be staying there again next time.

Oh and if you want a great feed to start your day Bernie does a great bacon an eggs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank russ-mich2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

We hope you take back some very happy memories of your trip to New Zealand, and hope this is not the last time you visit our country or stay at our place. Thank you so much for your review - it means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#14 of 23 in Mangere
300 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
5.6 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Grange Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. 2017 Qualmark 4 star grading. 2017 Silver Sustainable Tourism Business Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing