We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot for a first or last night stopover”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We change our hotel accomodation due to a flight change and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Pat and Bernie. When we arrived they upgraded us to a room with a seperate lounge and bedroom which had everything we needed and also provided warm muffins which were absolutely great after a long drive from Hahei. Although it was our last day in NZ they made us feel very welcome.It is only around 8klm to the airport so was very handy for us. For anyone visiting New Zealand from overseas I would say give this one a try you will not be disappointed for location and very freindly hosts and just maybe those lovely muffins.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

So glad you enjoyed the muffins! And thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review us. It is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again when next you're in New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Grange Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Grange Lodge twice on our visit to New Zealand, at the beginning of our trip and also at the end.
Pat and Bernie were so friendly and helpful, greeting us like long lost friends and really taking time with us to offer us recommendations, directions, anything we needed.
The unit we were in had everything we needed, and they had thoughtfully stocked it with coffee, tea and fresh milk in the fridge. And it's an easy drive to and from the airport without having to deal with the majority of Auckland traffic. There's also laundry facilities on site which was a real godsend for us.
We will be happy to stay with Pat and Bernie when we come back to New Zealand when we come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

It was so nice to have met you both. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Glad you were able to have time to do your laundry before heading home! Both Pat and I do look forward to seeing you again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We arrived later than expected in the evening whilst the owners were dining, but despite having interrupted their dinner they gave us a really friendly welcome, immediately getting up from their table and showing us to our room. Our living space was huge with a separate lounge and bedroom, and a well equipped kitchen area. We had a decent dining table too, which was great as we bought food in for dinner. On the owner's recommendation we had walked along to the Papatoetoe 'night market' shortly after arriving (on every Friday night). Nice family atmosphere - there were stalls to browse and a band playing and there was a great variety of food stalls for us to buy dinner from. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us and also on our local Night Markets. We are so glad you enjoyed the market so much. Since you were here there are now over 60 food stalls and lots more other stalls as well. It was so nice to have met you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked the family unit as well as another for my mother-in-law next door. We couldnt have been made to feel more welcome :) As we were there for a family engagement, we had visitors coming and going and there were absolutely no complaints from our Hosts. The muffins were absolutely yummy and the rooms were spotlessly clean. We will definately book in again when we return for the wedding!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceyandwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you very much indeed for reviewing us. It was certainly our pleasure to have you and your visitors here particularly on such a joyous occasion. Your visitors were very considerate and we certainly enjoyed meeting you all. We too are looking forward to the wedding and meeting up with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We received an excellent welcome of freshly "Baked Muffins" delivered personaly to our room by the hosts of this establishment, after a very trying arrival in New Zealand. They were very kind and accomodating to us, as well as sincere listeners to our plight. We were last minute arrivals with no place to stay. They truly were a "calm port in the storm". They provided us with pertinent information and suggestions to make our vacation an enjoyable experience. The room was clean, tastefully decorated, organized and comfortable. The staff and resident dog were very friendly. Our trip to New Zealand started off very badly until we stumbed accross this wonderful place, and exceptional hosts, which we sincerely appreciated. We stayed there in Feb. 2011, sorry this review took so long. We will definitely be back for another visit from Canada. Would highly recommend this Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

How lovely of you to write a review on us. Thank you very much indeed. Even though it was a while since you stayed we certainly remember you and are very glad indeed that the very first day of your time in New Zealand wasn't spoiled. We are so glad you found us!
When you next make plans to come here, do be assured of your welcome here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hosts were very nice and friendly, going the extra mile by bringing in our washing so it didn't get wet at night.
The only negative thing I would say is the two bedroom unit which a family can stay in should have pots and pans in which a family can cook in.otherwise everything else was really good. Highly recommend to others and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review us. It was so nice to have met you all. It was also our pleasure to look after your washing while you were out and about enjoying Auckland

However we would like to clarify the comment you made about the cooking facilities. It’s apparent you didn’t find all the pots and pans which are located under the sink!

There is a large family size frying pan and 2 large saucepans, and also an electric frying pan as well as a mini-oven. Pat and I dashed down to the unit to check that they were all still there!!

Both of us look forward to seeing you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

One of our favorite places to stay in New Zealand. Daughter left ereader under the bed, and Pat, the owner, kept it in the hotel safe until we could retrieve it. Accommodations are very clean, and have those extra touches that make your stay special. Muffins were awesome too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is very much appreciated. We loved having you stay! It was lovely to have met you all. I hope you can make it back this way again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Grange Road, Papatoetoe, Auckland, Manukau, Auckland 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: £81 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing