We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and compact”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived after a long flight and transit we got lost it was difficult to find with the hire car map! When we arrive late and were welcome with warm cakes, we then had the frozen meals available took a bit longer to cook than advise but was just what we need. The rooms are clean and compact, if you have a unit that backs onto main road the traffic can be heard through the night. We were late packing to leave (did not realise check out was 10am) and got a knock at the door telling us that we should off been out of the room by 10am and the cleaning staff had nothing else to do. We packed very quickly and left at about 10.30am this is the reason for 4stars

Room Tip: Not one that backs on to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing us and I hope you had no further trouble getting lost in Auckland! I'm sorry you thought check out time was 12 noon. All motels in NZ have a 10 a.m check out time but of course, if arranged the night before and we have no booking for the unit, we are very flexible. However, being close to the airport, we regularly have earlier than usual arrivals and we are very pleased we can offer accommodation earlier than the advertised time. Please pass on my best regards to your parents. What a lovely couple and I so enjoyed meeting them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Reading the reviews, I was expecting to enjoy my stay at Grange but it was even better than expected. Arriving in NZ from the states way too early in the morning, we arrived at the motel at 8 in the morning (yes, 8). I had not thought ahead that we would be a bit exhausted from an extremely long flight. My husband suggested just going to the motel and seeing if there was any open rooms so we could crash for a while. Our room was already available and they allowed us to check in early (God bless you!). The rooms were clean, well appointed, and yes, we even had a teddy bear on our bed.

The hosts made great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. We tried the midnight market, a food and flea market type of event in an underground parking garage. It is an experience we will never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolskaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

How nice of you to review us - thank you so much. We are also glad that the room was available for you after your long flight. Our staff try to get started as early as possible to cater for that very reason. So glad you enjoyed the midnight Markets. It has proved to be very popular and the food there is absolutely amazing with just about every dish imaginable. Here's hoping we see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Are there better, more welcoming hosts in New Zealand? We doubt it. Pat and Bernie (and Mac) go way beyond the expected with their warm and friendly welcome, yes including the muffins. The Awards that are proudly displayed on their office wall are testament that our welcome was the norm - they have been doing this for many years now - motelier of the year (for the whole of NZ), supreme host, business owner of the year - the list goes on.
Their guests quickly become their friends and you don't want to leave your new found friends behind. Thank you Pat and Bernie and Mac for all the licks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

How lovely of you to review us. Thank you very much indeed! It's always so nice to see you and Mac sends his sloppiest lick to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Over the past years, we have been extremely fortunate to be able to stay at the Grange. Pat and Bernie are on top of their game as motel hosts and I can find no fault with this accommodation. A few of the positive aspects are; low level (no stairs), car park right beside room (no need to lug heavy cases too far), close to motorway off-ramp, friendly reception and check-in, room comfortable surroundings with garden settings, friendly guard dog visits (he remembers us from our frequent visits and always comes across to say hello) and free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

How lovely of you to write a review on us. Thank you very much. It is always a joy to see you both when you're in need of accommodation in Auckland. Hope to see you soon. Mack says "woof"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed there on two occasions on our recent journey. On each occasion we were so warmly welcomed, that we felt like we had known Pat and Bernie as close friends for a long time. Unfortunately we had so little time to spend with them. The room was very good, having 2 bedrooms for the 3 of us travelling, and a separate lounge/kitchenette. It's located reasonably close to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyntonjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely review. We too would've liked you to have stayed longer!
Such is the nature of holidays though. I hope you had the best time during your trip around New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Pat and Bearnie were delightful hosts and the fresh baked muffins make it an even more homely stay; they even set up a cotbed for our one year old so that we could put him straight to bed as soon as we arrived. We stayed here on our arrival to NZ and decided to stay before our return flight. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable, probably the best night's sleep during our entire trip. Despite being by the main road it is quiet in the rooms and the traffic will not disturb anyone.

As a first and/or last stay, this is perfect for anyone. Quick and easy to get to State Highway 1 you can get straight to and from the motel, so possibly a good out of city base to visit Auckland. We will be staying here when we return to NZ.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it very much. So nice to have met you both and your gorgeous son. I do hope our paths cross again one day. All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived in Auckland after a long flight, and we are very glad to choose Grange Lodge as our first stay in the country. We were greeted by Bernie and her wonderful warm delicious muffins, and she was very helpful in showing us around. The unit we had was huge, and probably had the most amenities than any other places we stayed at while in NZ. We also got several visits from the very entertaining resident dog and cat, Mack & Sunshine. The only regret we had about Pat & Bernie's place is that we only stayed for one night!

One of the best place we stayed in while traveling NZ, and definitely will come back when we visit Auckland again. Thank you for your lovely hospitality, Pat and Bernie :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaSuryadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure to meet you all. Mack and Sunshine enjoyed meeting you too! I do hope you are able to come back to New Zealand again one day. It would be so nice to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
48 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Grange Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: £79 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. 2017 Qualmark 4 star grading. 2017 Silver Sustainable Tourism Business Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing