We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base for karaka yearling sales!”
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Gold coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for karaka yearling sales!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This motor inn is a little gem for the visiting yearling sales attendees.
Only 10 minutes down the motorway to karaka, so much more convenient than staying in Auckland cbd which is a 35 minute trip.
And the hosts Patrick and Bernie are delightful and have managed to provide a five star experience in a budget style lodge.
Highlights of the accomodation

1.40 Chanel cable TV including for the racing fans sky racing channels and trackside, often not available in five star hotels.
2.a very fast FREE wifi.
3.attention to detail in a very clean appartment, complete with a small kitchenette,having all the necessary items microwave,hot plate ,kettle, toaster, fridge with milk,coffee and tea , coffee plunger, utensils, crockery and cutlery, separate bedroom, dining table, fresh fluffy towels presented with artistic flare and separate bedroom.
4.daily room makeup.
On top of this the design of grange motor lodge allows for privacy and a nice garden patio very private.There is a local shop 2 minutes walk plus plenty of Chinese and Indian restaurants door dining/takeaway and a shopping centre just 2 minutes drive away.
And last but not least a very lovable old dog named Mac.
THANKYOU guys for a very enjoyable stay, and we will see you next year!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TanyagGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
How fantastic to have got your review. Thank you very much indeed. It was lovely to have met you and I hope the Karaka Sales proved worthwhile. Your review of us was really comprehensive and I am glad all the TV channels were appreciated. Mac sends his friendliest and hungriest woof! I hope we get to see you again next time you need accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Place was easy to find and there was own parking space for every room. Staff was amazingly friendly and we got fresh muffins on arrival. The room was very clean and included everything we needed. There is also possibility to do some laundry, which was nice, hosts showed how to use the washing machine and offered washing powder. It was little noisy in the evening due the traffic and the room was also little bit hot, since there was no air conditioning and the fan was so loud. But happily at night it was nice and cool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here. We were delighted to meet you and hope you take home many happy memories of your visit to our shores. I hope our paths may cross again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Grange lodge almost a week over New Year. Rooms are good size , kitchen well equipped and a secure little garden perfect for the kids to play.
Hosts are extremely helpful, giving lots of advice on things to do etc.
Maybe a little bit noisy when windows are open as it is close to a main road but that also means it is easy to get to.
I can also confirm the muffins are lovely!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunnel-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your experiences at our motel.
Thank you also for your lovely comments which are all the more welcome given that you are a seasoned reviewer.
We were delighted to see that you made the very most of your time in Auckland getting out and about every day to experience some of Auckland's many treasures. You certainly made the most of your limited time in Auckland.
We hope you have taken back home many happy memories of Auckland and the rst of New Zealand and maybe this will encourage you to come back for another" taste of kiwi".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Warm cup cakes as a welcome, plenty of information by your hosts. For us it was a perfect start.

Our bungalow was nice and cozy and we had a terrasse full of sunlight.

Mattresses were a bit to soft for us but we had a good nights sleep anyway.

Supermarket is in walking distance(15 minutes) at least for us. Besides a lot of chinese and indian restaurant within 5 minutes driving there are not much food options around. Therefore we used the kitchen and the small oven and everything worked well.

Thanks for giving us a perfect start for our New Zealand tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your very favourable comments on our motel.
We very much enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had time to visit our local community. Apart from the many Indian, Chinese and Vietnamese restaurants within walking distance we also have the fabulous midnight markets every Friday night in our local shopping centre. With over 60 food outlets, over 100 specialty stalls and live entertainment these are a must see. We hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was memorable and that t might just induce you to return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The chalets were lovely and everything we needed was available. The staff were amazingly friendly, and the hot muffins on arrival was a nice touch (and perfect timing as it was afternoon tea time for the kids, and we were tired with no food purchased by that stage). Everything was clean and tidy. Our only complaint was the road noise; it was very loud from all areas of the chalet. We slept through most of it, but on occasion the kids were woken by a loud car or truck.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet further away from the road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
We loved meeting you and your family. Your children were a credit to you and our dog Mack loved them. We trust that your last minute hassles with your airline were sorted out and that you got away on time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower North Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you for your warm hospitality, not only for my husband & I but also when our family arrived from overseas. You were so willing to go the extra mile & we really appreciated your thoughtfulness. Having stayed in a studio unit for the 2 of us as well as a 2 bedroom family unit we lacked nothing & were very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnholm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to publish a review on our property.
We really enjoyed meeting you and your family and were very proud to be able to play a small part in your reunion. Having recently had family members head off overseas we know how precious these family moments are.
Mack, our dog particularly enjoyed meeting you and your family and indeed was a little lost for some time after you left. We think you must have spoilt him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of November and we were not disappointed.
Soon after we had booked I received an email from Pat & Bernie with link to local attractions.

We booked a two bedroom lodge and it was perfect and had lots of useful things, like a clothes horse to dry clothes, an electrical extension lead and post it notes.

Pat and Bernie have thought of everything and it was a nice touch to have a TV guide and fresh milk in the fridge and of corse the lovely muffins! The kitchen was well appointed with two hobs, a microwave, fridge and, much to my delight there was ground coffee and a cafietierre (plunger/french press)!

Pat and Bernie were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed here with our young son for a few days, after arriving from the UK, so we were a bit jet lagged. Our lodge was very comfortable so we were able to relax and acclimatise and enjoy our time in Auckland.

Thank you Pat and Bernie for such great hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our motel and especially for your very kind comments.
We were delighted you were able to spend a bit of time in and around Auckland. It is an amazing city with surprises around every corner.
We hope you have taken fond memories of New Zealand back home with you and that maybe you might just come this way again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
87 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing