We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When we pulled up, we thought "uh oh", but when we were shown to our room we were pleasantly surprised with the room and the cleanliness. It was perfect for just the one night, as there isn't much to do around there and it's right off the busy road.

The hosts were very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr. 3DDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review . While we are delighted with your very generous comments we wonder if the property you have reviewed is in fact us. We ARE situated on the main road in a well established residential area. We are sited directly opposite the world renowned Grange International Golf Course with stunning views from our gate way. Our motel is continually being updated and being set in leafy park like surroundings with manicured lawns offers a restful haven.Guests regularly tell us that their first impressions are almost exactly the opposite to yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christmas Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed for two nights after flying into Auckland on an overnight trip from Perth Western Australia around 9.30am. We were both very tired but were welcomed with a big smile from Bernie who kindly gave us a unit which was ready to go. It was a free upgrade from the one we had booked. It meant we could have a very early check-in and have a sleep! We also thoroughly enjoyed the home made muffins as a late breakfast!.
Our unit was spotless and had everything we needed including free WIFI. The connection was excellent. I loved the way the towels were folded...quite a novelty and very impressive. Also the teddy bear on the bed was a cute touch. The small touches count a lot. There was even a roll of paper towel in the microwave to catch any spills! Pat and Bernie thought of everything.
The lodge is very handy to the airport and motorway. We also appreciated the closeness to a main shopping centre. The Lodge also has a good variety of frozen meals for purchase. An excellent idea for guests who do not want to go out or cook their own.
Pat and Bernie are certainly well suited to the hospitality industry. Their numerous awards are well deserved. I hope they enjoy their holiday. Happy Ruby Anniversary :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMJChristmasIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
How great of you to review us. Thank you very much. We are so glad we were able to have a unit available for your early arrival - you must have been exhausted after all the traveling. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to the only available unit. We always try to have at least one ready before our advertised check in time of 12 noon, but sometimes it doesn't work out!
I hope you had the most fantastic time during your holiday and here's hoping our paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Arriving in Auckland after travelling from the UK via Singapore it was fantastic to find the Grange Lodge just as described on Trip Advisor. Met by Bernie with a cheery smile and warm muffins, we were shown to our apartment which was very spacious and well maintained. We were only able to stay one night as we had a busy schedule ahead but would have been very happy to stay longer if time allowed. Would recommend the Grange Lodge as a first night stop for anyone flying into Auckland. Thanks again Bernie and Patrick, hope you enjoyed the break you were heading off to on the day that we left.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V8-MGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It was so nice to have met you and we too wish time could have allowed you to stay longer. However, I do hope you had the most fantastic time during your holiday and take home some wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This motor inn is a little gem for the visiting yearling sales attendees.
Only 10 minutes down the motorway to karaka, so much more convenient than staying in Auckland cbd which is a 35 minute trip.
And the hosts Patrick and Bernie are delightful and have managed to provide a five star experience in a budget style lodge.
Highlights of the accomodation

1.40 Chanel cable TV including for the racing fans sky racing channels and trackside, often not available in five star hotels.
2.a very fast FREE wifi.
3.attention to detail in a very clean appartment, complete with a small kitchenette,having all the necessary items microwave,hot plate ,kettle, toaster, fridge with milk,coffee and tea , coffee plunger, utensils, crockery and cutlery, separate bedroom, dining table, fresh fluffy towels presented with artistic flare and separate bedroom.
4.daily room makeup.
On top of this the design of grange motor lodge allows for privacy and a nice garden patio very private.There is a local shop 2 minutes walk plus plenty of Chinese and Indian restaurants door dining/takeaway and a shopping centre just 2 minutes drive away.
And last but not least a very lovable old dog named Mac.
THANKYOU guys for a very enjoyable stay, and we will see you next year!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TanyagGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
How fantastic to have got your review. Thank you very much indeed. It was lovely to have met you and I hope the Karaka Sales proved worthwhile. Your review of us was really comprehensive and I am glad all the TV channels were appreciated. Mac sends his friendliest and hungriest woof! I hope we get to see you again next time you need accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Place was easy to find and there was own parking space for every room. Staff was amazingly friendly and we got fresh muffins on arrival. The room was very clean and included everything we needed. There is also possibility to do some laundry, which was nice, hosts showed how to use the washing machine and offered washing powder. It was little noisy in the evening due the traffic and the room was also little bit hot, since there was no air conditioning and the fan was so loud. But happily at night it was nice and cool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here. We were delighted to meet you and hope you take home many happy memories of your visit to our shores. I hope our paths may cross again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Grange lodge almost a week over New Year. Rooms are good size , kitchen well equipped and a secure little garden perfect for the kids to play.
Hosts are extremely helpful, giving lots of advice on things to do etc.
Maybe a little bit noisy when windows are open as it is close to a main road but that also means it is easy to get to.
I can also confirm the muffins are lovely!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunnel-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your experiences at our motel.
Thank you also for your lovely comments which are all the more welcome given that you are a seasoned reviewer.
We were delighted to see that you made the very most of your time in Auckland getting out and about every day to experience some of Auckland's many treasures. You certainly made the most of your limited time in Auckland.
We hope you have taken back home many happy memories of Auckland and the rst of New Zealand and maybe this will encourage you to come back for another" taste of kiwi".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Warm cup cakes as a welcome, plenty of information by your hosts. For us it was a perfect start.

Our bungalow was nice and cozy and we had a terrasse full of sunlight.

Mattresses were a bit to soft for us but we had a good nights sleep anyway.

Supermarket is in walking distance(15 minutes) at least for us. Besides a lot of chinese and indian restaurant within 5 minutes driving there are not much food options around. Therefore we used the kitchen and the small oven and everything worked well.

Thanks for giving us a perfect start for our New Zealand tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your very favourable comments on our motel.
We very much enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had time to visit our local community. Apart from the many Indian, Chinese and Vietnamese restaurants within walking distance we also have the fabulous midnight markets every Friday night in our local shopping centre. With over 60 food outlets, over 100 specialty stalls and live entertainment these are a must see. We hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was memorable and that t might just induce you to return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing