We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, GREAT place to stay”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Out of all the motels we stayed at throughout our trip, this was our favorite. The owners of the lodge were absolutely fabulous. Bernie (one of the owners) met us upon our arrival with hot, fresh chocolate chip muffins, and she upgraded our room free of charge. The room was spacious, cozy, clean, and comfortable. We loved getting to know Bernie and Pat, and they also introduced us to their friendly dog and cats. We felt like we’d known them forever and not just first time, one-night visitors. We were only about 15 minutes from the airport, and it was the perfect final night to our trip. Thank you! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It sounds as if you had a wonderful time in New Zealand and we trust you have taken back many happy memories. We are sorry that you were only able to stay the one night with us and hope that circumstances allow you to stay with us again some time in the future. Mack sends his best wishes too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Thats what it feels like...clean,comfortable,friendly.....had had a hard day when myself and husband arrived and all we wanted was a cup of tea and a relax.We both enjoyed the Free hot muffins on arrival and expected nothing less then the spotless rooms that awaited us.Yes....we have stayed here before and the same high standards are always welcomed.See yous again sometime ...Thankyou for the Hug on our departure too :)...ps....even cleaned our car window for the long trip back up north.....Love this place!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

So lovely to have seen you both again. Thank you very much for your review. It is very much appreciated. Hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Can't fault the accommodation - the hosts were friendly and helpful, the room was large and immaculately presented, and facilities were excellent!

My kids particularly enjoyed the visits from Mac the dog :-)

Thank you so much for making our stay in auckland so pleasant... P.s. The muffins were amazing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It was such a pleasure to have met you and your lovely children. Mack also enjoyed meeting you all very much. So glad you used your time in Auckland to see and do everything you possibly could have. I hope you enjoy the rest of your well deserved holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When we pulled up, we thought "uh oh", but when we were shown to our room we were pleasantly surprised with the room and the cleanliness. It was perfect for just the one night, as there isn't much to do around there and it's right off the busy road.

The hosts were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr. 3DDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review . While we are delighted with your very generous comments we wonder if the property you have reviewed is in fact us. We ARE situated on the main road in a well established residential area. We are sited directly opposite the world renowned Grange International Golf Course with stunning views from our gate way. Our motel is continually being updated and being set in leafy park like surroundings with manicured lawns offers a restful haven.Guests regularly tell us that their first impressions are almost exactly the opposite to yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed for two nights after flying into Auckland on an overnight trip from Perth Western Australia around 9.30am. We were both very tired but were welcomed with a big smile from Bernie who kindly gave us a unit which was ready to go. It was a free upgrade from the one we had booked. It meant we could have a very early check-in and have a sleep! We also thoroughly enjoyed the home made muffins as a late breakfast!.
Our unit was spotless and had everything we needed including free WIFI. The connection was excellent. I loved the way the towels were folded...quite a novelty and very impressive. Also the teddy bear on the bed was a cute touch. The small touches count a lot. There was even a roll of paper towel in the microwave to catch any spills! Pat and Bernie thought of everything.
The lodge is very handy to the airport and motorway. We also appreciated the closeness to a main shopping centre. The Lodge also has a good variety of frozen meals for purchase. An excellent idea for guests who do not want to go out or cook their own.
Pat and Bernie are certainly well suited to the hospitality industry. Their numerous awards are well deserved. I hope they enjoy their holiday. Happy Ruby Anniversary :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMJChristmasIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

How great of you to review us. Thank you very much. We are so glad we were able to have a unit available for your early arrival - you must have been exhausted after all the traveling. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to the only available unit. We always try to have at least one ready before our advertised check in time of 12 noon, but sometimes it doesn't work out!
I hope you had the most fantastic time during your holiday and here's hoping our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Arriving in Auckland after travelling from the UK via Singapore it was fantastic to find the Grange Lodge just as described on Trip Advisor. Met by Bernie with a cheery smile and warm muffins, we were shown to our apartment which was very spacious and well maintained. We were only able to stay one night as we had a busy schedule ahead but would have been very happy to stay longer if time allowed. Would recommend the Grange Lodge as a first night stop for anyone flying into Auckland. Thanks again Bernie and Patrick, hope you enjoyed the break you were heading off to on the day that we left.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V8-MGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It was so nice to have met you and we too wish time could have allowed you to stay longer. However, I do hope you had the most fantastic time during your holiday and take home some wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This motor inn is a little gem for the visiting yearling sales attendees.
Only 10 minutes down the motorway to karaka, so much more convenient than staying in Auckland cbd which is a 35 minute trip.
And the hosts Patrick and Bernie are delightful and have managed to provide a five star experience in a budget style lodge.
Highlights of the accomodation

1.40 Chanel cable TV including for the racing fans sky racing channels and trackside, often not available in five star hotels.
2.a very fast FREE wifi.
3.attention to detail in a very clean appartment, complete with a small kitchenette,having all the necessary items microwave,hot plate ,kettle, toaster, fridge with milk,coffee and tea , coffee plunger, utensils, crockery and cutlery, separate bedroom, dining table, fresh fluffy towels presented with artistic flare and separate bedroom.
4.daily room makeup.
On top of this the design of grange motor lodge allows for privacy and a nice garden patio very private.There is a local shop 2 minutes walk plus plenty of Chinese and Indian restaurants door dining/takeaway and a shopping centre just 2 minutes drive away.
And last but not least a very lovable old dog named Mac.
THANKYOU guys for a very enjoyable stay, and we will see you next year!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank TanyagGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

How fantastic to have got your review. Thank you very much indeed. It was lovely to have met you and I hope the Karaka Sales proved worthwhile. Your review of us was really comprehensive and I am glad all the TV channels were appreciated. Mac sends his friendliest and hungriest woof! I hope we get to see you again next time you need accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#14 of 23 in Mangere
300 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
5.6 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Grange Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: £78 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. 2017 Qualmark 4 star grading. 2017 Silver Sustainable Tourism Business Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing