We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to start your holiday”
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice place to start your holiday”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a nice welcome by the owners, who offered thorough hospitality to make sure I was all set and also left me to my own devices without being over-involved (a careful balance). After a stressing day of travel that was exactly what was needed. The room was nice and I wish I spent more than one night to enjoy more of the amenities. It’s not the most up to date room, but if you’re looking for an upscale motel with the anonymity that goes with it, you wouldn’t pick this place and would pay twice as much.
One downside is the bed linen, very hospital feeling. Rough and stiff=uncomfortable.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quick night or two before they start their journey outside of Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank where_to_next1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and for such generous comments.Our only regret is that you did not have more time to sample the many and varied delights of Auckland. It was interesting that you mentioned the brand new sheets we purchased only a few days before your arrival. We are very happy with the quality and texture of the sheets which are the absolute best our supplier has to offer and a cut above sheets you will find in most motels. They are very crisp and stylish but it may be that for some of our guests they need a few more washes to soften just a little.We trust the rest of your journey was relaxing and enjoyable and that you have taken back many happy memories of your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Grange Lodge Motel is located about a 15 minutes drive from Auckland airport and 5 minutes from the main north-south highway that runs through Auckland.

There are service stations located on the way to the airport which is very convenient if you are returning a hired car.

The motel is not ultra-modern but it has all the necessary items - TV, internet access, microwave, and fridge - and is very clean and extremely well managed by Bernie and her husband. The bed was very comfortable.

The motel is situated on the edge of a residential area. It is also not large which means that there is not a lot of people coming and going to disturb you at night.

Five minutes down the road is a string of small restaurants - mainly Asian (e.g. Indian, Chinese, and Vietnamese) - that offer takeout at a very reasonable price. My motel room had a binder with the menus for many of these. Bernie was also able to add some additional ones.

Since the motel is located near the main highway, I found this very useful for visiting the Auckland botanical gardens, the Ayrlies gardens, and the Westfield shopping centre. I didn't try driving to the downtown area of Auckland but I would thing it would be fairly straight forward being only a 5 minute drive from the highway.

All in all, I would say that this is a very good place to stay for anyone who is looking for value and has a car, particularly if you have just arrived by air or are planning to fly out of Auckland airport the next day.

The warm welcome that you receive makes the stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a comprehensive review of our motel and for such a glowing report. We are well sited to motorways and public transport which makes it easy to travel anywhere in Auckland and we are well served by restaurants, many within walking distance. We are proud of the quality of our beds and you may be interested to learn that several of our guests after using our beds have gone out and bought the same for their own use. Thank you again for making the effort to review us. It is greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Out of all the motels we stayed at throughout our trip, this was our favorite. The owners of the lodge were absolutely fabulous. Bernie (one of the owners) met us upon our arrival with hot, fresh chocolate chip muffins, and she upgraded our room free of charge. The room was spacious, cozy, clean, and comfortable. We loved getting to know Bernie and Pat, and they also introduced us to their friendly dog and cats. We felt like we’d known them forever and not just first time, one-night visitors. We were only about 15 minutes from the airport, and it was the perfect final night to our trip. Thank you! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It sounds as if you had a wonderful time in New Zealand and we trust you have taken back many happy memories. We are sorry that you were only able to stay the one night with us and hope that circumstances allow you to stay with us again some time in the future. Mack sends his best wishes too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Thats what it feels like...clean,comfortable,friendly.....had had a hard day when myself and husband arrived and all we wanted was a cup of tea and a relax.We both enjoyed the Free hot muffins on arrival and expected nothing less then the spotless rooms that awaited us.Yes....we have stayed here before and the same high standards are always welcomed.See yous again sometime ...Thankyou for the Hug on our departure too :)...ps....even cleaned our car window for the long trip back up north.....Love this place!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
So lovely to have seen you both again. Thank you very much for your review. It is very much appreciated. Hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Can't fault the accommodation - the hosts were friendly and helpful, the room was large and immaculately presented, and facilities were excellent!

My kids particularly enjoyed the visits from Mac the dog :-)

Thank you so much for making our stay in auckland so pleasant... P.s. The muffins were amazing!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was such a pleasure to have met you and your lovely children. Mack also enjoyed meeting you all very much. So glad you used your time in Auckland to see and do everything you possibly could have. I hope you enjoy the rest of your well deserved holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When we pulled up, we thought "uh oh", but when we were shown to our room we were pleasantly surprised with the room and the cleanliness. It was perfect for just the one night, as there isn't much to do around there and it's right off the busy road.

The hosts were very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr. 3DDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review . While we are delighted with your very generous comments we wonder if the property you have reviewed is in fact us. We ARE situated on the main road in a well established residential area. We are sited directly opposite the world renowned Grange International Golf Course with stunning views from our gate way. Our motel is continually being updated and being set in leafy park like surroundings with manicured lawns offers a restful haven.Guests regularly tell us that their first impressions are almost exactly the opposite to yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmas Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed for two nights after flying into Auckland on an overnight trip from Perth Western Australia around 9.30am. We were both very tired but were welcomed with a big smile from Bernie who kindly gave us a unit which was ready to go. It was a free upgrade from the one we had booked. It meant we could have a very early check-in and have a sleep! We also thoroughly enjoyed the home made muffins as a late breakfast!.
Our unit was spotless and had everything we needed including free WIFI. The connection was excellent. I loved the way the towels were folded...quite a novelty and very impressive. Also the teddy bear on the bed was a cute touch. The small touches count a lot. There was even a roll of paper towel in the microwave to catch any spills! Pat and Bernie thought of everything.
The lodge is very handy to the airport and motorway. We also appreciated the closeness to a main shopping centre. The Lodge also has a good variety of frozen meals for purchase. An excellent idea for guests who do not want to go out or cook their own.
Pat and Bernie are certainly well suited to the hospitality industry. Their numerous awards are well deserved. I hope they enjoy their holiday. Happy Ruby Anniversary :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMJChristmasIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
How great of you to review us. Thank you very much. We are so glad we were able to have a unit available for your early arrival - you must have been exhausted after all the traveling. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to the only available unit. We always try to have at least one ready before our advertised check in time of 12 noon, but sometimes it doesn't work out!
I hope you had the most fantastic time during your holiday and here's hoping our paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing