We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy family run accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy family run accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The lovely Bernie and Pat were so warm and welcoming when my sister and I passed through briefly on our epic NZ road trip. Bernie even had a plate of muffins waiting for us. I hadn't realised (though a quick check of Google maps would have confirmed this) that the motel is out in the suburbs which are surprisingly reminiscent of Western Sydney where I'm originally from. Pluses include the fast free Wifi, dvd library, overall cleanliness of the place and resident pets. Missing my own furkids terribly I loved having Mack the dog and Sunshine the cat around. If you're after a home away from home you simply must stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
It was so great to have met you both on your epic trip around New Zealand. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated. We are so pleased the Wifi lived up to your expectations. Hope to see you both again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    36
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
81
76
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wavendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

From the start we were made so welcome it felt like home. We stayed 2 nights and were in a very spacious suite so had plenty of room to sort out our 4 weeks luggage from our honeymoon. The laundry was free which was very generous. The rooms have everything you could wish for including very fast free wifi which was to us amazing as many hotels and motels did not have a good connection. We would definitely recommend this motel as so near the airport which is needed in Auckland traffic.
Thanks once again for a great stay.
Steve and Geraldine Thomas

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for your very generous review of your stay. We are so glad the Wifi performed as it should. We have recently upgraded it and are so pleased you appreciated it. It was really nice to have met you both and we wish you both joy and happiness in your lives together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are a family of four who stayed one night here at the beginning and end of our trip. Bernie and Pat are the most welcoming hosts I have ever encountered - it felt like we were staying with family. They made sure we were comfortable, gave us warm delicious muffins on arrival and gave us directions to go to the fabulous night markets just down the road. My husband was quite sick on our first night and Bernie and Pat made sure we got him to the nearest medical centre so we could continue with our trip. The facilities are very comfortable and immaculate. They suited us perfectly for our one night stays however it would be a great place to base yourself if visiting Auckland for a few days or more. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. The Power Family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sairsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
It was so great to meet you both and your wonderful sons who are a credit to you both. We are so glad that your husbands sudden illness didn't detract from the rest of your holiday and I am very impressed that he managed to soldier on despite feeling so unwell. Thank you for your review - it means a lot to us and we will look forward to seeing you all again one day, soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A very warm and friendly welcome although it was 9 pm... The bed was comfy with crisp linen, the unit was very clean, lovely fresh muffins on arrival and best of all - real milk for the tea and proper coffee. We will call in again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janewelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
How nice of you to take the time to review our property. Thank you very much. It was very nice to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you here again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
768 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed over at the Grange motel for one night when we had a stopover at Auckland. The only issue we had was to find the address. the address states Cnr Grange road, which we were unable to find on our Satnav. Finally after asking a lot of people, we realised that Cnr stood for 'Corner', which meant corner of grange road! Once this was resolved, everything else about the motel was excellent.
Since we arrived late, we were welcomed with a teddy on the bed along with home made brownies.! a great personal touch and have never seen such service before.
Rooms are slightly outdated, but the maintenance and the amenities are excellent.
Another thing of note was the the way the towels was decorated - splendid.
Location wise it is quite close to the airport, yet not too far from the city.
Very close to Manakau high street.
While we were stuck unable to find the address, the previous night, my mind was set on giving it a rating of 2 or below on the back of poor location. But then from there on, the service has been so good, I have accepted to ignore the initial mishap, and give it a full 5 star rating, as I reckon that 'Cnr' is more of a local abbreviation, and we should've known better.
Highly recommend it and the hosts are wonderful, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was so nice to have met you both and I have taken note of your comments about the "Cnr" and have changed it to it's correct unabbreviated spelling! You will also be interested to know that we have had our builders in to update fittings in the unit type you were accommodated in. Hopefully it will modernise it substantially. I hope you can make it back to New Zealand at another time. We'd certainly value your opinion! Thanks very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We first discovered Grange Lodge Motel almost six years ago . . . and were SO impressed that not only have we never had any doubts about returning on every visit to New Zealand since, BUT we have happily recommended Grange Lodge to family and friends. And their response has always been the same as ours . . . the cleanest, nicest, most hospitable place to rest your head that one could ever wish for.
Bernie and Pat are the friendliest and most welcoming owners we have ever encountered on our travels. (A lovely touch are the fresh muffins to accompany the greeting smiles!).
For international travellers such as ourselves, Grange Lodge is perfectly situated at just 15 minutes or so from Auckland International Airport and just minutes away from the main motorway into the central city (20 minutes or so depending on traffic and the time of day).
The motel is located directly opposite a large, well-known Auckland golf course and bordered on the other sides by a largely residential area, so is very quiet and peaceful. Local shops and a comfortably sized shopping mall are close by and very easy to find.
The motel complex itself is quite small . . . a dozen or so units, which to our mind in itself makes it a quieter, more friendly and personal experience . . . so we would always suggest you Pre-Book (we are completely confident you won't be disappointed)!!!
The units themselves are wonderfully clean*, with every amenity you would need . . . fridge (complete with real-milk), kettle (with complimentary tea & coffee sachets etc), electric hob, micro-wave, TV (with Sky Sports!!!) and a wonderfully comfortable (and hot) shower. And a small, private, outside patio area!
*On the subject of cleanliness we have bumped into the lovely cleaning ladies on several visits and they have always been as lovely and friendly themselves as the owner. (And WE think that tells its OWN STORY!) We would also suggest you browse the "About Us" and "Accolades" pages on the motels website for a further insight into the ethos behind how Grange Lodge is run.
We have travelled and stayed in Motels all around the world . . . through America, Canada, the UK and all over Europe . . . and can honestly say Grange Lodge is the BEST place we have ever layed our heads. Whenever the need, or desire, arises to visit New Zealand, usually every other year, Grange Lodge is the second booking we make . . . after the airline tickets . . . and, in fact might even be the first booking should they be fully-booked for our original flight-dates!!!
Needless to say, we are SURE to RETURN . . . and think you would be as well.
Karen and Brian, London, United Kingdom

Room Tip: We have stayed in several of the units here and each has been LOVELY!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianAndKaren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Well. How to reply. Thank you so much for your most generous review of us. We really do appreciate it and the fact you choose to stay and recommend us to your family and friends. It is people like yourselves who enrich our days and remind and enthuse us all over again as to why we chose this lifestyle. Sincerely, thank you. We very much look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a nice welcome by the owners, who offered thorough hospitality to make sure I was all set and also left me to my own devices without being over-involved (a careful balance). After a stressing day of travel that was exactly what was needed. The room was nice and I wish I spent more than one night to enjoy more of the amenities. It’s not the most up to date room, but if you’re looking for an upscale motel with the anonymity that goes with it, you wouldn’t pick this place and would pay twice as much.
One downside is the bed linen, very hospital feeling. Rough and stiff=uncomfortable.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quick night or two before they start their journey outside of Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank where_to_next1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and for such generous comments.Our only regret is that you did not have more time to sample the many and varied delights of Auckland. It was interesting that you mentioned the brand new sheets we purchased only a few days before your arrival. We are very happy with the quality and texture of the sheets which are the absolute best our supplier has to offer and a cut above sheets you will find in most motels. They are very crisp and stylish but it may be that for some of our guests they need a few more washes to soften just a little.We trust the rest of your journey was relaxing and enjoyable and that you have taken back many happy memories of your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing