We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT motel that takes care of its guests!”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT motel that takes care of its guests!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was the last of the four lodgings we stayed at during our two-week trip to New Zealand. The owners, Pat & Bernie, were the quintessential hosts rather than merely hotel owners! Within minutes of our arrival, we felt that we were long-since-seen friends rather than clients who have arrived for the first time! It was an ideal place for us to say as we left New Zealand, leaving us with the best of lasting memories! (BTW, if you have an early morning flight from AKL, it is ideally located!)

Room Tip: If you have an early morning departure and need a good, QUIET, sleep make sure you tell Pat & Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you so much for such a fulsome review. Given that you are a seasoned traveller your comments are all the more appreciated and valued. We were delighted to be a small part of what was a wonderful trip through New Zealand and we hope it will not be too long before you pay another visit to see those parts of the country you missed this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed three nights in a self contained unit. Was warmly welcomed with a smile, chat and a couple of freshly home cooked muffins! Warm and cosy with electric blankets, plunger coffee and fresh milk delivered and unit serviced each day. Fridge, microwave, toaster and fully stocked kitchenette. Pat is lovely even offering to turn our heating and electric blankets on for us when learning we were going to be home quite late. Location was good for us whilst visiting relatives in Papatoetoe. Approx $40 cab fare to airport. Was suggested that it might not be a good idea to walk around alone at night though, but we did without any problems. I watched the cleaners for a while too while waiting an a call and servicing of rooms was very thorough. Free WIFI was a dream for keeping in contact with family.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared good. Reading other reviews, apparently some have baths so if this is for you sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel. It was lovely meeting you and we are glad you were able to spend so much time with your family. We know what it is like to return to a dark unfamiliar place so we do put lights and heaters on when we are aware that our guests will be returning late at night. We hope it will not be too long before you pay a return visit to Papatoetoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night. Upgraded from single room to double at no extra cost. We were presented at check in with warm muffins. Plunger coffee supplied. Comfortable warm beds. Shower over bath. Not modern decor however quite adequate. We will be returning!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Biffee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy that our minders looked after you and took the trouble to upgrade your unit. Glad you enjoyed the muffins!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pat is by far the sweeetest host ever! I went through a 26 hour trip, lost luggage, and had a massive migraine...Pat's hospitality definitely changed my grumpy mood! The room was spotless.. and the muffins, oh my god soooo good..I refused to share them! Pat kept asking about my lost luggage, and made sure we were perfectly relaxed.. What else, erm.. yah, she taught me few Maori lingo which was awesome and helpful.. It was such a perfect start to our 2 months/2 islands road trip :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
How lovely of you to review us. Thank you so much and also for the terrific photos. They are absolutely superb. We intend putting them on our website. So glad that the temporary loss of your luggage didn't spoil the beginning of your holiday. It was so great to have met you both and to hear that you had such a fantastic time. I hope our paths cross again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Not the place if you want downtown Auckland, however is great for its location south of Auckland. Site consists of a group of individual 'cottages' gives a feeling of space. Each has all you need for self sufficiency. Equipt kitchen even with plunger coffee (replaced daily) and fabulous warm muffins on arrival. Very friendly and informative hosts who have ensured that guests are well looked after. Can honestly say that the service is equal to most major hotels (albeit in a different way). Housekeeper keeps the rooms clean daily and has a fascination with folded towels creating a very nice touch. Although you will need a car, if needing somewhere nice and different close by the airport or Middlemore Hospital - this jaded international traveller recommends the homeliness of the Grange Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry53249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete such a comprehensive review. We particularly value feedback from such a seasoned traveller.
Our Housekeeper takes great pride in her work and we encourage her to use her artistic talents with room layout and towel display. She was very proud to receive a mention. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for the last night of our trip in NZ and what a great place to do it. The place was convenient and the room was spacious and clean. Pat (host) was very friendly and thoughtful. He even remembered as promise to give us some suggestions on what to do the next day before our flight when we checked out. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our motel and I am glad the information I gave you on some of Auckland's many attraction proved helpful. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you had a safe and pleasant journey back home and that this short visit to New Zealand will tempt you to come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our daughter when we arrived we were warmly greet with hot out of the oven chocolate chip muffins (they were so yummy) our room had been upgraded just because they though we sounded like nice people after we booked by phone and my husband chatted to the owners our room was clean and nice there was a cute teddy on our bed which our daughter was so pleased to have to sleep with the room was warm and very comfortable our bed was great hubby had best sleep he's had in years the grounds clean and tidy and best of all the owners were so friendly and inviting we will certainly stay here again without hesitation Thanks Pat for an awesome experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soper-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Guys. Thank you so much for such a glowing comments..Thank you particularly for mentioning the comfortable beds. The secret is a top quality mattress combined with quilted topper pads. We hope that you can all make it back here again sometime. You would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Property: Grange Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Grange Road, Papatoetoe, Auckland, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing