We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay in Auckland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Stay in Auckland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stay here every Christmas while visiting family in Auckland. With two young children, Christmas has the potential to be an incredibly stressful time, but Pat and Bernie go out of their way to make us feel so comfortable. Bernie has even brought my washing in for me when we arrived home late one evening. It was all folded neatly and placed on our table! Every Boxing Day, we are invited to their annual BBQ that they put on every year for their guests. It is an affair not to be missed!
I cannot recommend this motel highly enough. It is very affordable, particularly for a family group but it is the personal touches (muffins, teddy bear, Christmas basket from Santa) that make the Grange shine above anywhere else we have stayed in New Zealand.
Alot of other motels could do well to emulate what Pat and Bernie do - but to us and many others by the looks of the other reviews - there is only the one unique Grange Lodge Motel.
Thank you and we look forward to next year's visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    36
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
81
76
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We Stayed at the Grange in 2004 after relocating to NZ to work at Middlemore hospital.
I am so grateful that we were allocated this motel as I am convinced it made all the difference as to whether we settled or left NZ.
We also stayed here in Feb 2010 for 3 weeks while finding another rental
Pat & Bernie welcome you in to their family and I have never stayed anywhere like it .
They are outstanding hosts and will go beyond the call of duty to help.
We feel privileged now to call them friends

Go experience their hospitality you will not stay anywhere better in Auckland !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

My partner Gary and I have been staying throughout the year with Pat and Bernie for over 5 years now and they never cease to amaze us with their "awesomeness"...its like going home, actually for some of us possibly better than going home :-) We can't help but recommend them to everyone going to Auckland needing a place to stay. Pat and Bernie totally "make" the place, because without them, it would be just a motel. The complex is always lovely, clean, tidy, fresh, airy, welcoming and its all down to them. The dog is just the bees knees and my partners granddaughter who hates dogs loves him.
Thank you Pat and Bernie for making out stay(s) so lovely, we will see you again soon.
Michele

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
It is always so lovely to see you both. Thank you so much for your comments and for always choosing to stay with us. Mack the Dog sends his best regards to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

We got warm welcome on our arrival at Grange Lodge Motel. After a long drive from Bay of Islands we were pleased to have warm muffins and this made us to feel home. The motel is very nice, quiet, and clean – you will have everything you need to fell comfortable. Free Wi-Fi internet is a great advantage. We liked our unit and appreciate the attention to details like the flower-shaped towels in the bathroom and the teddy bear on our bed. This motel is highly recommended.
Pat and Bernie were very helpful and they recommended us places to visit and eat. Thank you Pat and Bernie to be such wonderful hosts – much appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Have stayed at Grange Lodge a few times now and is our place to stay when in Auckland. Great host, clean rooms and good size. Thanks Pat & Bernie for making us feel welcome

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thank you very much indeed for your comments. It's always a pleasure to have you stay and you are always very welcome here at The Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I decided to visit the Grange Lodge Motel based off of previous Trip Advisor reviews. Having just spent three weeks traveling through Australia and New Zealand and this being our final stop before home, it was glorious! First off, let me say having free wi-fi and free laundry anywhere in New Zealand is a rarity and certainly a welcome one. It was fantastic to be able to go home with freshly laundered clothes after traveling abroad for so long. Pat and Bernie are as wonderful as all the other reviews state. We were delivered freshly baked muffins and were treated as esteemed guests and friends. They were immensly gracious and extremely appologetic due to circumstances beyond their control. Unfortunately the city water main broke right before our arrival and during the course of repairing it, the internet line was then cut. Even with those things happening, our stay there was one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. You'll be pleased to know that water and telephone lines are all fixed and it's business as usual here at the Grange! Your patience and understanding of the situation was greatly appreciated and it was lovely to have met you. Here's hoping our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We arrived at the Grange Lodge Motel after a long journey from the UK, this was to be our new home for the next four weeks before moving into a permanent home. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home with the warm welcome that we received from Pat and Bernie the owners. Having moved to a new country that we had never been to before, the help and advice that we were given by Pat and Bernie was invaluable. During our stay at Grange Lodge we were treated as part of the family, which was a fantastic way to start our new lives in New Zealand. Whether your staying for a short or long period, Pat and Bernie will always make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your comments very much and wish you and your family all the very best for your new futures in New Zealand. It was a pleasure to host you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing