We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manukau Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just came by this hotel by chance. The rooms had just been refurbished and were very clean. The owners very friendly and helpful.A great place to stay if you have an early flight and only 10 mins to airport as we did at the end of our stay.Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraJaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    35
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
21
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The room was clean and the couple who run the place are very friendly. It was probably a bit overpriced compared to similar places we stayed in NZ including Auckland but it's ok for a stopover if you have a flight the next day. Our main disappointment which was not the hotel's fault was that there were very few decent places to eat or drink in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed just the one night after arriving in Auckland and everything was just fine. Clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet considering it is on a fairly busy road and just 300m or so from a Westfield shopping centre.

If you order the cooked breakfast you better be hungry because it was enormous (and delicious).

This was a lovely start to our holiday in New Zealand and we would definitely stay here again if flying in to Auckland and then heading south.

As well as the Westfield just up the road there is a Kathmandu store nearby (useful if, like us, you didn't bring enough warm stuff).

Just one thing to note, we brought our own TomTom sat nav from Oz, having purchased the map for New Zealand on a special deal. The Tom Tom map for NZ thinks that this part of the Great South Rd is in Wiri (the old name for the area) and not Manakau. There is no Great South Rd Manakau according to the satnav map that we had. So we needed to enter "Wiri" as the city/suburb. If you just use Auckland and then 631 Great South Rd you end up somewhere further north in the suburbs of Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGR_ThreeOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I hadn't planned to stay at the Manukau Motor Lodge while travelling around NZ, but an unfourtunate bout of food poisoning forced me to stop my journey temporarily. My partner and I stopped at this hotel as an emergency only, and were thankfully accommodated by the staff. I arrived well before check-in time-without a booking, and the staff were gracious with me in my horrificly ill state. Even offered to call a doctor for me. :) They helped carry my bags to the room and were incredibly helpful. We were given a studio room on the second floor, which looks like it was recently renovated. The room was a bit cold for me (I'm from Australia, and am not used to the freezing NZ weather), but there was a small heater in the room. Also, it was probably too cold because I was ill. But the housekeeping staff were very helpful when my partner asked for several more blankets and were very obliging. The hotel is also very close to shops and places to eat. Even though we were only there one night, it was a pleasant stay. The room was large enough for two people to fit comfortably in, and it was a nice and quite motor lodge. Very clean and tidy. Comfortable bed - had a really good sleep. Overall, despite being sick, it was a really good stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanganui
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked a Spa studio unit for 1 night after reading previous reviews and because of proximity to the airport. We were greeted by Neil on arrival and he was very friendly and helpful - even asking if we needed a local area map and showing us the best way to get to town and back across the busy road. He also helped us out with a last minute booking for a friend for that night. The rooms were clean, fresh, comfortable and surprisingly quiet (didn't hear a thing when the door was shut) given the proximity of the busy road just out the front. The beds had crisp clean sheets on which made for a pleasant nights sleep and everything was spotless. I would happily book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Spa unit and an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsmum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Very nice people and couldn't have made our stay any nicer. Very clean and tidy. Couldn't have asked for a better palce to stay!!!!! Thank you so much for your hospitality after our very dissapointing start at Rayland Motel, so glad we stumbled upon you!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Very convenient motor lodge for anyone taking an early flight out of Auckland Airport. In line with the clean, orderly and down to earth motor lodges in New Zealand and Australia.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaelstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#4 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
5.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
5.4 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manukau Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manukau Motor Lodge

Property: Manukau Motor Lodge
Address: 631 Great South Road | PO Box 76450, Manukau 2104, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manukau Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our complex is ideally located being an easy walk to Westfield Shopping Centre and Manukau CBD. This centre includes SKYCITY cinema and restaurants. Motorway (State Highway 1) on and off ramps make for easy access to us and to and from the rest of Auckland. Auckland Airport is a 10 minute drive. Our complex includes, Studio, one and two bedroom units, Spa bath units, Swimming and spa pools and sauna. QUALMARK 4 stars rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Manukau Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manukau Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing