We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great views”
Review of Paku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paku Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights early January. Good clean spacious accommodation and all facilities to do your own thing. Quiet location. But, be warned if you want internet access logging on is a pain and your device/computer is unlikely to stay connected when in room (good connection and speed in the reception office). Perhaps the management/owners would like to look into this and address the problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optiontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here overnight. The room was gorgeous, spacious and clean, and the use of the barbecue and deck made for a lovely evening watching the sunset while we prepared and ate dinner. The hosts were very helpful in recommending things to do and see in the area (Gemstone Bay, Stingray Bay, Cathedral Cove, hike up Mt. Paaku). What a lovely place - will definitely stay here again when we come back to New Zealand!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Paku lodge is very nice, light and airy, useful balcony. It's just a shame that Paku is having a new marina built which we think will destroy the ambience. Maybe good business for hotels catering for sailors.
Information about local facilities inaccurate, advertised breakfast unavailable, manager had to be elsewhere and no substitute present.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LuttonRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and was very comfortable. Lovely deck outside our 1 Bedroom Apartment, with a barbecue and great views over the estuary.

Clean, comfortable, and affordable with pleasant and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaiyanandHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We got a bargain, off season best time to take a break, we started with only going to stay for a night until we walked into our apartment, we immediately booked another night, the next day we discovered the area and decided to book in for 7 nights and explore the Coromandel Peninsula using the Paku Lodge as a base, as the apartment has a fully equipped kitchen, we stocked up with groceries, what a way to start the day, cooked breakfast on the deck, explore the Coromandel's and dinner at sunset on the deck..
The staff could not be more helpful, nothing was a bother. The Lodge has all the equipment you need for the area including shovels if you wanted to visit the hot springs beach, kayaks, laundry, and loads of local knowledge.
As for the location, it's breath taking, over looking the bay with views if the township and surrounding hills.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HolidaysYaYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious and the views excellent. Although we only had a couple of days there, would have liked to stay longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and the beach is just across the road from the motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Tairua is my favourite destination on Coromandels' East Coast. We've stayed at Paku Lodge before and are never disappointed. The motel's close enough to Town to walk in if you want to stretch your legs, and far enough from Town to have peace and quiet. The beach is across the road, and in summer we've swum in the channel even when the tide's been out.
Each unit we've stayed in has been clean, modern and had beautiful views. Beautiful sunsets from the verandahs. Make sure you stay more than 1 night to get chance to do some of the walks in the area, especially to see views over Paku. Friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.8 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
15.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paku Lodge

Address: 10 The Esplanade | Box 63, Tairua 3544, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £66 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paku Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Paku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paku Lodge Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing