We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring view”
Review of Paku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paku Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely, refreshing stay in a comfortable motel with great views of Tairua harbour. Very close to Mt Paku which has spectacular views over Pauanui and the Tairua estuary. At high tide, we enjoyed kayaking up the river quite some distance - take binoculars for better views of the birds! A very quiet place to stay. Kitchen well-equipped, though if you like to use an electric frypan, you will need to bring your own. No DVD player, but did have some SKY channels. Free WIFI, though quite limited if you want to use SKYPE, was still great for checking email. No spa or swimming pool, but just over the road from the harbour.

Room Tip: We chose a studio room which was upstairs where we had a little balcony with wonderful views over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRS565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This property is set in an elevated position overlooking the harbour on a quiet road on the peninsula out of Tairua. We went for a larger one bedroom apartment (No. 8) which had a separate bedroom. Both the sitting room and bedroom were light and airy with lovely views and spotlessly clean and nicely furnished.

We went to dig our own hole on hot water beach, where the hot springs percolate down the sands for two hours either side of low tide, spades are provided at the motel. Beware the sand between the two groups of excavations which gets extremely hot.

The helpful owners recommended the Old Mill Cafe, 2 minutes stroll along the road.

We climbed to the top of Mount Paku (lovely views) in the morning before heading off to Mount Manganui.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recieved a warm and friendly welcome on arrival, our room number 5 was on the ground floor. It was modern, spacious and very clean.The best bit was having two patios!, one at the side overlooking the estuary and one at the front. It was a shame we were only staying one night as we would have loved to make more use of them.We were on our way to Rotorua.
Although it was a brief stay, we managed to walk up Mount Paku. If you stay in Tairua, it is a must do. It is a strenuous walk up, but the views are amazing.
We drove into town for our evening meal. We had a wonderful meal at Pepe Restaurant. We were given complimentary bruschetta whilst waiting for our mains. The staff were very friendly. Our food was delicious. We were sat outside overlooking the bay, unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5, you will be spoilt for choice with two patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We came for 2 nights and stayed 5! The location overlooking the harbor provides great views. The Paku is very calm (at the end of a cul de sac). A pleasant 20 mn stroll along the waterfront leads into town and there is a nice café right next door. The beautiful Ocean Beach is only a 5 mn walk. Whether Beach or Harbour, safe swimming was never far away.
Helen and Trevor did everything to make our stay even more pleasant and were always available when we needed anything. Laundry and Wifi were complementary, a great bonus for travelers. The room was spacious, impeccable and well equipped. We could cook and enjoy the sunset from our little terrace after a swim right out the front door, that's what we call a vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reisemaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed one night after just turning up. A functional motel room, clean and well equipped with a balcony and great views. Great little restaurant cafe next door but only limited nights opening. Rooms were a little warm however really shouldn't complain as it was due to the sun shining in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller14uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

5 nights spent here in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the harbour.
Views were constantly changing with the tides and light.
Rooms and decor were immaculate.
Bicycles,kayaks and paddle boards were available at no extra charge.
Nothing was too much trouble for the managers Trevor and Helen.Thank you.

Room Tip: Studios or 1 bedroom apartments All overlook the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hancomajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights early January. Good clean spacious accommodation and all facilities to do your own thing. Quiet location. But, be warned if you want internet access logging on is a pain and your device/computer is unlikely to stay connected when in room (good connection and speed in the reception office). Perhaps the management/owners would like to look into this and address the problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optiontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.8 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
155 reviews
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
15.5 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
14.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paku Lodge

Address: 10 The Esplanade | Box 63, Tairua 3544, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £60 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paku Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paku Lodge Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing