We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
53
33
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
33
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location small balcony free laundry ocean view hot water beach one night stay fantastic place would stay here again the managers comfortable bed trevor paku unit harbour tide town motel
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This property is set in an elevated position overlooking the harbour on a quiet road on the peninsula out of Tairua. We went for a larger one bedroom apartment (No. 8) which had a separate bedroom. Both the sitting room and bedroom were light and airy with lovely views and spotlessly clean and nicely furnished.

We went to dig our own hole on hot water beach, where the hot springs percolate down the sands for two hours either side of low tide, spades are provided at the motel. Beware the sand between the two groups of excavations which gets extremely hot.

The helpful owners recommended the Old Mill Cafe, 2 minutes stroll along the road.

We climbed to the top of Mount Paku (lovely views) in the morning before heading off to Mount Manganui.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recieved a warm and friendly welcome on arrival, our room number 5 was on the ground floor. It was modern, spacious and very clean.The best bit was having two patios!, one at the side overlooking the estuary and one at the front. It was a shame we were only staying one night as we would have loved to make more use of them.We were on our way to Rotorua.
Although it was a brief stay, we managed to walk up Mount Paku. If you stay in Tairua, it is a must do. It is a strenuous walk up, but the views are amazing.
We drove into town for our evening meal. We had a wonderful meal at Pepe Restaurant. We were given complimentary bruschetta whilst waiting for our mains. The staff were very friendly. Our food was delicious. We were sat outside overlooking the bay, unforgettable.

Room tip: Ask for room 5, you will be spoilt for choice with two patios.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We came for 2 nights and stayed 5! The location overlooking the harbor provides great views. The Paku is very calm (at the end of a cul de sac). A pleasant 20 mn stroll along the waterfront leads into town and there is a nice café right next door. The beautiful Ocean Beach is only a 5 mn walk. Whether Beach or Harbour, safe swimming was never far away.
Helen and Trevor did everything to make our stay even more pleasant and were always available when we needed anything. Laundry and Wifi were complementary, a great bonus for travelers. The room was spacious, impeccable and well equipped. We could cook and enjoy the sunset from our little terrace after a swim right out the front door, that's what we call a vacation!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reisemaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed one night after just turning up. A functional motel room, clean and well equipped with a balcony and great views. Great little restaurant cafe next door but only limited nights opening. Rooms were a little warm however really shouldn't complain as it was due to the sun shining in.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller14uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

5 nights spent here in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the harbour.
Views were constantly changing with the tides and light.
Rooms and decor were immaculate.
Bicycles,kayaks and paddle boards were available at no extra charge.
Nothing was too much trouble for the managers Trevor and Helen.Thank you.

Room tip: Studios or 1 bedroom apartments All overlook the waterfront.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hancomajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews