We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Paku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paku Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Our family of four (kids 12 and 9) stayed here two nights as recommended on the Trip Advisor forums.
Paku Lodge is situated at the base of Mt Paku right on the beach/bay at Tairua (a hidden gem of Coromandel Peninsula). The location was idyllic, serene and magical. The unit was clean and comfortable. The kids slept in the lounge area (one of their beds had lounge type cushions) on two single beds and we had a queen bed in a spacious separate room. The room had a well equipped kitchen where we cooked several meals. The balcony was lovely and great to sit out and watch the view. The bathroom was okay but the three doors was a bit of an obstacle course to get in and out of.
We really appreciated and utilized the FREE bikes, canoes and shovels for Hot Water Beach (attraction about half an hour north). Many places we stayed charge a bomb to hire anything extra. We also appreciated the FREE washing machines and dryers - the only ones we encountered on our trip and saved us a good $20!
Trevor was a great host and very welcoming and friendly, although it did take some time to check in due to problems with his eftpos. It would have been better to allow us to check in and pay at our leisure as we were very tired and just wanted to relax !
Tairua is a tiny town and you might be better off grabbing groceries at a major town before heading here. However, if you want to stay somewhere quiet without a lot of tourists, then this is your place! We based ourselves here and explored Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach which was only half an hour North. Great scenic drive to get there.
At $210 a night, this was one of the more expensive places we stayed on our two week trip around the North Island, but considering the free extras and the view, we thought it was worth it.
Our only complaint was the VERY noisy party the house next door to the units had until 2am - not the fault of our hosts, but we would have thought someone may have rung the police or got them to quiten down.
Overall, we were happy and comfortable with Paku Lodge and keen to return to the serenity of Mt Paku and Tairua. Just hope the neighbours have moved !! ;)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Could not fault the location and the facilities are good as well.

Without driving, there are no good restaurants local. There are two but they are rather so, so.

The views from the rooms are fantastic.

Only reason it's marked down is the price. Obviously we agreed to pay the price without knowing what to expect. If you can get a deal for staying here you would probably have a more satisfying result.

Yes I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

i had never been to tairua before, and so wasn't prepared for how beautiful paku lodge's location is. it is breath taking at sunset.

however, for the price (over $180 per night) i had expected more. it is unserviced (we stayed three days and the rubbish wasn't even emptied over this time) and we had to ask for more towels. oh and also the sofa bed was uncomfortable and a few of the slats were broken.

that said, the people who ran the place were very nice. and the beauty of the location cannot be overemphasised.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retogaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fou-reveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julinic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.8 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
154 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
14.3 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
15.5 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paku Lodge

Address: 10 The Esplanade | Box 63, Tairua 3544, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £59 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paku Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paku Lodge Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing