We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Paul and Natasha run a fabulous, spotless inn in a picturesque part of the world (think postcard material). I called ahead to learn if a room was available, though my stay was slightly out of season in early May and I felt instantly welcome. Much of the trip I traveled alone and I recommend the Blue Water hands down. The location is steps from town for a bite to eat, drink or if on the lookout for souvenirs. Arrived slightly too late for a trip to Hotwater Beach but was still offered a shovel and towel - took the recommended kayak trip to Cathedral Cove which was awesome. Close to all beaches, wish I had spent another night/ day in the comfy accommodations and in this gorgeous town. It is worth the time!
Matt

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hi Matt,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel. Glad you enjoyed your stay and also your holiday in NZ !
cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Blue Water Motel is in a great location, right off the main road into Tairua, a short walk down to the shops and across the road from the beach. I was really impressed with how spotlessly clean my room was, and how friendly the staff were. Free Wi-Fi is also great.

I was travelling alone, but thought that it probably wouldn't be ideal for families with small children as there isn't a huge amount of space to run around outside, and the driveway opens up onto the main road which can get quite busy in summer. Saying that though, there is a huge park a short distance down the road.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Hi there,
We just wanted to say thank you very much for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay in Tairua. Hope to see you again soon !
cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were driving through Tairua after visiting Hot Water Beach when this motel caught my eye. It was really cute, with the beach just across/down the road, The hosts were very friendly with a very casual attitude The room was small but there was a nice seating area on the deck outside each room. Overall, it was a nice, relaxing place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Hi Beth,
Many thanks for taking time to review our little motel and for your very kind comments. I guess you stayed in one of our studios which are quite compact, have lovely views and offer great value for money. If you return to the Coromandel another time and would like a larger room you could try one of our Chalets. They are twice as big as the studios, detached, offer the choice of twin single or king sized beds and have full cooking facilities.
Glad you enjoyed your holiday and thanks again.
cheers, Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

There are two dog friendly units provided by this hotel (at the front of the entrance). As well as dogs being allowed inside there is a nice roomy deck outside if you prefer your pet outdoors.

Great location near town and the river/beach is an easy 5 mins walk away; if that.

Very clean and spacious rooms with all the amenities you would need. Comfortable large bed. Owners are very friendly and helpful, they know the area well and are happy to provide loads of information to make your stay enjoyable. Kitchenette has two burners and they provide a lot of the cookware.

Even though close to the road there is minimal noise from the two front rooms.

$50 bond required for the pet (might have changed by the time you read this)

Make sure you give the owners a heads up if you want to bring your dog to make sure it is ok

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Smallish room, and a bit pricy for us, but this is a resort area and it was between Christmas and New Year. The price was not unexpected. Lovely room with a queen bed, two nightstands, TV, small breakfast table with two chairs, kitchenette with two burners, microwave, refrigerator, sink, toaster, electric kettle, dishes, flatware, pots, etc. The owner had shovels (spades) to loan for digging at the Hot Water Beach / Hot Sands Beach which was only 20 minutes further north. We had a choice of two rooms, the top one had a king bed and a great view!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Needed a place for one night and this place looked good as we entered Tairua. luckily they had a room for us. spotlessly clean, nicely decorated fully kitted out with everything we needed and although we'd chosen a small-ish room, it was still quite spacious. great position in a very pretty place. very good value and very friendly and helpful owners. thanks Paul and Natasha.
Jill & Mike from Oxford UK.

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

WOW...Thank you Paul and Natasha for making our stay in th Tairua so wonderful! Everything in our room sparkled and was so immaculately clean and modern! I would recommend this beautiful little motel to anybody wishing for a relaxing, cheap, clean and homely stay in the Coromandel. You thought of everything right down to loaning us beach towels and spades for our trip to hot water beach.Thank you, thank you, thank you we will see you again hopfully soon! Neil & Sarah (Auckland) & Gary and Sian (Wales)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £60 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing